My Reviews (61)

Sushi Sandwich Spread

This is a great filling for sandwiches or as a party dip. It's inspired by sushi and the wasabi and ginger can be adjusted to taste.
Reviews (61)


27 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: Caroline C
I absolutely LOVED this! I used wasabi powder because that's what was in the cupboard, ground ginger (ditto), and added both a little at a time until it was how I wanted it. Also, I didn't need 1/2c of mayo - just a couple of heaped tbsps. I used the tuna salad to top a couple of split toasted buttered English muffins - the contrasting textures worked extremely well. I really really enjoyed this, and can't wait to make it again for lunch tomorrow! Thanks! (PS, I did indeed make it the next day. I made it into a regular sandwich for husband - on white bread, as recommended - and while he still really enjoyed it, he said it was MUCH better on the toasted muffin. I have to agree!)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: LINDA MCLEAN
This was great Jen! I had wasabi/mayo in the house so I was thrilled to find this little recipe. Different and delicious. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: Katie Yeager Bangs
Quick and easy. I added jar minced ginger instead(in the fridge), threw it on a salad and sprinkled with rice vinegar as a dressing. Instant healthy lunch! And it helped my sushi craving.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: Kevin Andrews
This is a great lower-carb way to enjoy a sushi-like experience. I concur with Katie B that adding rice vinegar (possibly seasoned, which includes a splash of sugar and salt) makes a nice touch. Next time I'll try it with pickled ginger for even more authentic sushi taste, a sprinkle of sesame seeds on top (mostly for show) and/or a drizzle of Japanese style spicy-mayo. Add wasabi slowly, tasting as you go.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: JLMURDO
Awesome idea! I didn't use that much mayo and used wasabi paste, some rice vinegar and some soy sauce. Then I grilled it. This recipe makes my tuna sandwich so much more exciting!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: Chari Campbell
Nice! Very different. I actually preferred this even more with a splash of soy sauce mixed in. Thank you for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: pookydiddles
My boyfriend really wanted to try this, but I don't like tuna! We compromised by using shredded crab instead of tuna. Another great variation: the same sandwich with melted cheese on top.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: Mrs. Chef Esh
This is my new favorite tuna salad...and I eat a lot of tuna! You can customize it to suit your individual tastes, and it works perfectly for low-carb lettuce wraps! To make it even simpler, you can buy the Wasabi Mayonnaise at your local grocery store!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: K.K.B.
Very good!! I will definately make this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: S. Salas
Yummy! I added a little pickled ginger. It was great.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes