My Reviews (139)

Pumpkin Purée

Lots of recipes call for pumpkin puree but it can be hard to find here in Australia. It's easy to make your own and freeze for later use in pies and muffins.
Reviews (139)


29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: NRGUPTA
I found the best way to make pumpkin puree is to cut the pumpkin into small chunks, cover them with water, and simmer them for about 30 minutes until tender.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: FROGGYOGA
Simple, easy instructions for the first time pumpkin pureer, a trick to this is too not let the pumpkin get cold before scooping out the pumpkin meat..once its cold it gets hard to do.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: dianna
Thanks for this basic recipie. In Germany cooking and baking with pumpkin is not very common, so I was thankful to find this. Now I can try out recipies calling for pumpkin puree.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: What a Dish!
Really simple and easy!!!
 
17 Oct 2005
Reviewed by: Jennifer Gray
Simple, easy instructions for the first time pumpkin pureer, a trick to this is too not let the pumpkin get cold before scooping out the pumpkin meat..once its cold it gets hard to do.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Oct 2005
Reviewed by: Melhenn27
I found the best way to make pumpkin puree is to cut the pumpkin into small chunks, cover them with water, and simmer them for about 30 minutes until tender.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Nov 2004
Reviewed by: Laura
I just used some of the pumpkin from my jack o lantern, and zapped it in the microwave for 9 minutes. Worked well.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: JARRIE
There are lots of ways to do this. Personally I line a pan with foil, cut my pumpkin in half horizontally (whatever kind, I've used sugar pumpkins, pie pumpkins, and even some sort of fat mystery pumpkin), remove the insides, spray PAM on the foil, put the pumpkin cut-side down, and roast that baby for an hour or so. After an hour I lift the edge of the side with the stem and poke the pumpkin flesh gently with a fork. If it feels like a baked potato, I take it out, if not, I keep baking it until it DOES feel like a baked potato. I let the hot pumpkin rest about 15 minutes before I take a spoon and scoop out the flesh. I mash it while it's hot, but pureeing is probably even better - I just have never needed to. Your baking time will vary quite a bit based on the temperature of your pumpkin going in - if you were storing it on the porch then it's going to take longer because the pumpkin is colder :=) Thanks for the recipe! (Note: sometimes the emptied out pumpkin shell will dry hard and crisp, and the empty shell can be put back out on the porch as long as it stays cold outside in your environment! This varies based on species of pumpkin, whether or not you cooked it long enough to harden but not blister the skin, and how well you scraped it.)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Oct 2005
Reviewed by: Keith Harden
el perfecto! This is absolutely simple and easy to make. I purchased two (of what I believe to be) sugar pumpkins from the local farmers market. The are grey. This worked perfect. Two pumpkins, apprx 12 in in diameter made roughly a gallon of pumpkin puree. I had four halves and roasted them in the oven for about 1 hour and 15 minutes. the two in the very back where like baked sweet potatoes, flaky and fluffy. The two in the front where not as done , chunky, and worked just as well. Scoop out the pulp and put it in a blender. I attempted to strain the puree only to find out that I didn't need to. It was perfect. Thanks gidget for the helpful tip on pumpkin puree. For $2 at the farmers market I have enough pumpkin puree to make 16 pumpkin pies using two cups of puree per pie! Beautiful Job!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: Cdnshaz
I started baking the pumpkin in the oven this year as arthritis restricts me from cutting chunks and boiling. (Which is much quicker) The one thing the original poster has not mentioned is draining the puree, pumpkin has lots of water and needs draining. I have never had probs with stringy bits as it is pureed in blender. I let it sit in a seive for a few hours to get out as much water as possible, if you do not do this step when you thaw out your pumpkin you will lose some to fluid and your recipes will have too much liquid. DRAIN...drain ....and drain....
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes