My Reviews (76)

Sugar Free Blueberry Cake

You won't believe this is a sugar-free cake! If you eat sugar, it's just as good with the sugar back in.
Reviews (76)


15 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: Denise
Wow!! I am Type 2 Diabetic and 9 months pregnant. I don't know why I couldn't have found this recipe sooner. It is fantastic. I feel so guilty eating it because it doesn't taste sugar free. Will make again real soon.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Aug 2005
Reviewed by: cheremushki
Veerrrry delioucious!! I'm eating eat as I'm typing this review!! I made it in 4 servings instead of shown, so there was no need to use 9/13 pan. Instead I have used pan commonly used for baking banana loaf, but it still came out fantastic! I gotta say, after coming on to this website to subdue my sugar craving, this recipe was quick and easy. But I've used a real sugars(I'm non-diabitic), and I found it bit over sweet for my taste. I guess I would LOVE to try it again with bit less sugar. Oh, especially LOVED the crumble part.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 May 2010
Reviewed by: aiseiri_47
Loved this recipe! I mixed raspberries in with the blueberries, and left out the cake topping (mainly because I couldn't get my hands on any brown sugar substitute) and everyone who tried it loved it. Don't know what's going on with those who don't like the outcome - maybe it depends on the quality of sugar substitute used? Also, be wary of vanilla extracts. I know it's not much, but I checked out three bottles and two of them had water and sugar as their primary ingredients -- the third, vanilla essence, had no sadded ugar, only vanilla.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Sep 2013
Reviewed by: Littleruthie
These are great easy to make but would like to say for the crumbs on top you need to add a bit more flour then it recommends other than that fantastic
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
19 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: mauigirl
This was very good. I added about an 1/8 of a teaspoon of freshly grated nutmeg to the cake batter to give it a more traditional flavor. I also combined equal parts of splenda and dark brown sugar to give it a more complex flavor for the topping. Will definitely make again soon. YUMMY!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: Irene
I made this in a 9-inch pan and it turned out perfectly. Be sure to reduce the amount of topping by about half if you bake the cake in a round pan to account for the smaller surface area. I've also made this with real sugars. The result is equally good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: luv2shop
Yummy!! I could not find the type of brown sugar called for so I used the splenda type. However, it is 1/2 real sugar...so I scaled down the topping quite a bit. I only used 1/2 cup of the splenda brown sugar and added enough flour and butter to make it crumbly, I still used 2 teaspoons cinnamon though. For us it was plenty of topping. This is a yummy "almost" sugar free cake made with the splenda brown sugar. Thanks for another great recipe!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Aug 2014
Reviewed by: Pattipat
I made this for my daughter (31) as she has developed a sugar intolerance! She absolutely loves it and I had to admit to keeping several pieces for myself! Absolutely delicious.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
04 May 2012
Reviewed by: Peggy
Made the Splenda version and it was great! Used one cup of whole wheat flour also. Added pecan pieces to the topping and it made it so much better. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: Christina
This was wonderful! My mom was recently diagnosed as a diabetic and I was looking for diabetic friendly recipes for her and stumbled upon this one, which was perfect because she LOVES sweets. The only change made was that instead of using the malitol brown sugar we used 1 cup of splenda and 1/2 cup of dark brown sugar combined (Thanks Kelly!). This looked so beautiful once finished and it tasted even better! Seriously, you can't even tell it's sugar free! I know we'll be using this recipe often. Thanks for posting.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes