My Reviews (76)

Sugar Free Blueberry Cake

You won't believe this is a sugar-free cake! If you eat sugar, it's just as good with the sugar back in.
Reviews (76)


08 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: jody1
This recipe deserves more than 5 stars! I made this for Easter for my diabetic parents and EVERYONE liked it! It can be difficult to find a GOOD diabetic recipe that tastes "normal", this didn't taste sugar free at all! I used Splenda White sugar for the cake and Splenda Brown sugar for the topping and used real butter~Absolutely WONDERFUL! Thanks for a tasty & healthy recipe :D
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: emmalita
I love this recipe! The only tip I would pass along is that it seems there is too much butter in the topping mix. I have had to add flour to get the right consistancy. I have made it both with Splenda and regular sugar and both times it was a huge hit!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: Lisa C.
I made this to take to work today and everyone loved it; it disappeared quickly! I was afraid to make it with all Splenda, fearing that articial sweetener aftertaste, so I made it with half Splenda and half regular sugar. (For the brown sugar, I used 3/4 cup regular brown sugar, and 3/4 cup Splenda Brown Sugar Blend. For those of you who are diabetic, please be aware that Splenda Brown Sugar Blend contains 1/2 regular brown sugar...it's NOT sugar free!) I also subbed 1 cup of white whole wheat flour for one of the 3 cups of all-purpose flour. I baked it in a catering half-pan, about 9x12 inches, for 43 minutes, and it came out just right!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: SUSAN MCA
As a diabetic who has long searched for a good sugar-free recipe, I was encouraged by the previous reviews, but I have to say, I don't agree with them at all. If you really can't tell that this is made with sugar substitutes, it's because you haven't had the real thing in so long. My husband, who didn't know it was made with substitutes, took one bite and said, "There's something wrong with this."
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 May 2006
Reviewed by: Chef Danielle
YUM! I can't believe this sugar free coffee cake tasted as good as it did. I made this for Mother's Day and it was a hit! I used Splenda brand white and brown sugars. I used the frozen blueberries and thawed them before adding to the batter. I baked it an additional 10 minutes longer than called for because the middle wasn't quite set. I will definitely make this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Apr 2005
Reviewed by: DSGGG
my mother is diabetic and i am always lokking for recipes like this.... i made it this morning she loved it and my father who isnt diabetic loved it as well.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Jun 2007
I made this recipe for my diabetic father. Instead of making a cake I made muffins. It was quick and easy to make him a basket of them for a little father's day suprise. We all enjoyed them for breakfast with coffee.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: sushibox
I made this for friends who are diabetic, and it's the best reduced-sugar cake I have tried making so far. Splenda cakes tend to be rather dense, but this one was fluffier. It's not as fluffy as a cake that uses regular sugar, but it's definitely fluffier than any other Splenda cake I have tried making. I made it during the summer, so I had fresh blueberries that were in season. For the topping, I used Splenda Brown Sugar blend (which contains some real brown sugar, so it's not sugar-free). Instead of one full teaspoon of vanilla, I used 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla and 1/2 teaspoon of almond extract. I know from experience that this combination works really well to bring out the taste of blueberries. The recipe yielded two 6" round cake pans. I would definitely make this recipe again. Thanks
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: ILive2Eat
I made this with regular sugars and it was moist and delicious. I suggest baking it 5-10 min. longer than recipe calls for. This one's a winner!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Feb 2013
Reviewed by: karennye
These are lovely. Me and my son loved them. They are not sweet but the blueberries flavoured them lovely. I actually forgot to do the frosting and they were still very enjoyable.They freeze also freeze well.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes