My Reviews (73)

Sugar and Cinnamon Muffins

These muffins are baked then dipped in a cinnamon and sugar mix so that they taste just like donuts!
Reviews (73)


28 Jun 2017
Reviewed by: liberty07004
I just made this recipe and it was so easy, my mum hates when I bake and don't clan up well enough but this had very little mess and was super easy!!! Defintely recommend making for a quick simple and yummy tasting treat!
 
12 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: TUNISIANSWIFE
WOW! Great muffin and they do taste like cake doughnuts!! No need to get out the oil and fryer if you have a hankering for a doughnut and don't want the mess! I did add taste the batter and doubled the nutmeg and added 1 tsp. cinnamon also. Only made 5 1/2 Texas size muffins and baked at 27 minutes so if making normal size muffins, watch the time closely so they don't burn. They rose so high and looked the picture when I took them out of the oven. I had some butter mixture w/brown sugar and cinnamon left in the fridge so just nuked that and as soon as they came out of the oven, I brushed that on and it did have a browned butter taste. I then sprinkled them with whitesugar/cinnamon mixture. These are super light and fluffy tasting. I would double the nutmeg and add 1 tsp. cinnamon to the batter. Recipe doesn't call for vanilla, but if I had added a touch of that also, these would have been over the top. Great to make also if one wants a breakfast muffin and do not have fruit. KEEPER! thanks so much.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: DREGINEK
Very good muffins! I added 1 tsp vanilla to the egg/oil mix and reduced the sugar to coat the muffins down to 1/2 cup. The only thing I'd change for next time is to add something such as raisins, oatmeal or shredded zucchinni, just so they taste more like a muffin and not so much a sweet cake.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Sep 2004
Reviewed by: LUNULA
I followed the recipe exactly and I thought the muffins were pretty bland. I like the heavy texture, and the smell while baking was wonderful - but I ate one right out of the oven and it was okay, then another after they had completely cooled and was still just okay. I was expecting these to knock my socks off based on other reviews, but I thought they were average.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Trying To Cook More
Very good! My children loved them! I did find the muffin to be a little bland the first time, so I added some vanilla and cinnamon the second time. Thanks for sharing your recipe, dakota kelly.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Jun 2009
Reviewed by: Yiouli
How can this recipe have so many good reviews? I followed the directions exactly, and they came out very bland. They weren't awful or anything, just no distincitive taste, no pretty texture, nothing. I can sure use my ingredients for something more impressive and tasty than this.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: Claudio
I used 1 1/2 teaspoons of Pumpkin Pie Spice instead of the nutmeg and added 1 tsp. of vanilla to the sugar/oil mixture, and they came out wonderfully-not bland at all. However, the recipe only made 10 regular muffins .
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Jun 2005
Reviewed by: BLUUBUTTERFLY
These were so delicious! The topping was way too much (I made 4 batches and had plenty left over). I let the tops of the muffins sit in the butter for about 30 seconds before putting them in the topping mix. It seemed to make it carmalize a bit. Everbody absolutely loved these and went back for more again and again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: belli
I don't know about the original recipe. I added more nutmeg, cinnamon, and vanilla per the other comments. I also did half whole wheat flour, which made the muffins not so high, and skipped the topping all together. The result was a sweet muffin that didn't feel so unhealthy. Definitely will make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: SuzyQ
Topping would be better with brown sugar.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes