My Reviews (43)

Beef Stuffed Pasta Shells

Large pasta shells are cooked, stuffed with a mixture of meat and tomatoes and baked. A cheesy and satisfying dinner.
Reviews (43)


10 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: Lorraine Pounds
I have to say this recipe was absolutely wonderful! I have only made stuffed shells maybe 3 or 4 times, and always just used spaghetti sauce. Because I have never like can tomatoes in anything I made, they always seem to overpower a dish, and all I taste is tomato. But this blew me away, oh so good! The only thing is I had half the sauce left over, could of easily used another box of shells. This was absolutely delish!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 May 2006
Reviewed by: mascara
I loved this recipe. I did add some parmesan cheese to the meat mixture. I also added extra basil and garlic.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: ChefNan
First I added an egg- which bound the ingredients together better. I also added a little parmesan and mozzerella which also helped hold everything together. I was feeling too lazy to sautee an onion so I just put a small can of mushrooms in instead.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: MK
Remember to drain the diced tomatoes. I forgot and it was so watery. Also, mix the cottage cheese with the meat and onion NOT with the sauce! It was pretty flavorful the next day.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Mar 2004
Reviewed by: NJSS2000
This was ok. I prefer some other recipes over this one. If I made this again, I would use my own sauce.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: Bec
This recipe was delicious! I liked that it was easy to make and used ingredients I already had in my kitchen. I'm sure I'll make this one again - maybe I'll add spinach next time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: Adina
It tastes OK but the meat was too crumbly, didn't stay together and came out of the pasta.I tried to put some of the sauce in the meat but it didn't help much. I gave it only 3 stars because my family ate it without any critics.I don't believe I'll make it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: steph04
I made this tonight, I had to change it just a little. I had tomato paste, so I made my own sauce with that and some chopped onion and mushroom and pepper and tomatoes. I added the hamburger meat to that sauce. I also used an egg and mixed the cottage cheese with the egg, some mozzarella and Parmesan cheese. As others suggested I used a zip lock bag with the tip cut off for putting the cheese mixture into the shells. That worked very well. I spooned in the sauce on top of that, inside the shells, after they were all filled I put more mozzarella and Parmesan and garlic powder on the top of all of it and then baked for 30 minutes. I usually won't give a lower than 5 rating to a recipe that I modified. In this case it seemed the shells would not actually be very stuffed, but more cooked in sauce...if you stuffed them with just the beef. I layered everything inside the shells, no sauce poured on the top or under, which did take some time, but they came out Wonderful. Thank you for sharing your recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: Michelle
Very good recipe! The flavor was very good. The sauce turned out a bit watery - next time I will drain all the juice out of the tomatoes. I also needed only 1/2 the box of shells.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 May 2006
Reviewed by: snugglepunkin
I really enjoyed this recipe for its simplicity and good flavor. It would have been rather bland as-is so I upped the garlic to a whole teaspoon of minced garlic and then used garlic salt instead of table salt. It was very flavorful at that point and my toddler daughter wolfed it down. Can't wait for the leftovers (and that's rare, for me!)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes