My Reviews (91)

Strawberry Cream Swiss Roll

Delicious sponge cake filled with rich strawberry filled whipped cream. Using fresh strawberries and thickened cream, this tasty cake makes a perfect afternoon tea.
Reviews (91)


08 Aug 2005
Reviewed by: NYJEN
This was so good!! I used alot of tips from previous reviewers, thanks!! First I added some lemon zest to the jelly roll batter, then I added about 4 oz of cream cheese to the filling and I used strawberry jello instead of unflavored gelatin. The strawberry jello added a really nice color. I dusted the top of the rolled cake with powdered sugar and placed three dollops of reserved filling mixture on top of the roll then on top of each dollop I placed a fanned out strawberry. Both childern and adults loved this recipe. So yummy!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: Irene
The first time I made this, the cake turned out very rubbery. I suspected that it was a mistake on my part, so I made it again and beat the eggs more. That time, the cake was great. I suggest beating the eggs with a mixer on the high setting for no less than 5 minutes. I added strawberry gelatin to the cream and omitted the sugar, since the gelatin was already sweetened.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Oct 2001
Reviewed by: LUCYLYNN23
Very light! Reminds me of Spring. I didn't have unflavored gelatin so I used strawberry jello powder. Turned out to be a great substitute- Gave it a nice light pink color and wonderful added taste.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Apr 2012
Reviewed by: Jennylynn
I've made this roll numerous times and it is great...with a couple modifications. I whip the cream and add 8 ounces of light cream cheese. I use 1 teaspoon of strawberry gelatin instead of the unflavored gelatin (it gives the cream a beautiful pink color) and omit the 1 tablespoon of sugar. I chop 2 cups of strawberries into a small dice. You will actually have enough cream left over to top everyone's dessert as a garnish! A tip for people just making this for a first time, leave about 4 inches on one of the end of the roll when spreading the cream and leave about one inch on either side. Roll from the cream side to the non-cream side and it shouldn't "squish" out the end or the sides.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 May 2006
Reviewed by: LatinaCook
This roll was so easy to make and it looks very pretty. I chopped up the strawberries before measuring them and stirred in 2 Tablespoons of sugar. I also added three drops of red food coloring to the filling. (See my picture) When you trim the crusty edges make sure you don't toss them they are soooo good! I like to let the roll sit outside the refrigerator for a little while before eating so that the cake is softer. It tastes just like strawberry short cake. A+
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Apr 2005
Reviewed by: Georiga's peach
My family loved this. I added one 8 oz. cream cheese to the cream. Excellent!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: OkinawanPrincess
Delicious! After reading other reviews I added a little lemon zest to the jelly roll batter as I wanted the cake part flavored. I used a butter parchment paper for easier clean up. The ingredients and directions were easy to follow. However, I must warn everyone to watch your oven when baking up the cake. My cake was done in 8 minutes and on the verge of turning dark brown on the edges. Be sure to check your roll early on. I layed out my cake onto a parchment paper sprinkled with confectioner's sugar. I rolled the cake up and let it cool. I chopped up fresh strawberries before measuring and added it to the whip cream. I did not have any unflavored gelatin so I used strawberry flavored which turned out to be a better choice as it made the whipped cream a pretty pink color. I carefully rolled the cake back up and chilled it for a few hours. This is light, refreshing and very good. The cake is light colored, tender and fluffy. It is delicately flavored with lemon and blends with the powdered sugar. The roll is very pretty with the pink whipped cream and red juicy strawberries swirled inside. (see my picture) It is light, cool, creamy and very refreshing. I like the bits of juicy sweet strawberries. I found the whipped cream very tasty and not too sweet. The strawberry gelatin added more flavor. I think the challenging part to this recipe is baking up the cake and then rolling it without it cracking. We all enjoyed this!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: CanadaLadyBug
The cake roll stuck to my towel. I ended up having to put the whole diaster into a big bowl. My husband stil said it tasted good, but it looks like big mess. Need more explaniation on making jelly rolls.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Mar 2004
Reviewed by: NATALIERAE
I made this last night for a baby shower this afternoon. It was a hit. Didn't think of it until later, but some lemon zest would have been great in the cake batter. Delicious.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: Melissa mieske
this was so refreshing!! i added 1 tablespoon of rum(any) will do thnxx this was great on a warm day...
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes