My Reviews (8)

Beef and Booze Stew

A rich, tasty beef stew - perfect for a cold winter evening. Serve over rice, baked potatoes or simply with crusty bread to mop up all the delicious sauce.
Reviews (8)


09 Feb 2012
Reviewed by: sophiegrace88
didn't use any brandy, and a little more red wine, turned out really lovely with crusty cheesy bread!
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
Comment:
28 Mar 2011
djdazg said:
Took shortcuts. Cooked the mushrooms and onions in a seperate pan with a dash of red wine and olive oil. Added the mixture to the main pan half hour into cooking time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
28 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: djdazg
I really enjoyed this dish! It was surprisingly tasty!
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
18 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: Catkin
I have to agree with some of the other reviewers, there was nothing that special about this dish. It was still a good casserole and easy to make, it's just that I have had better.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
12 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: RPMACLEAN
Gave the recipe a try. Easy to prepare and I tend to agree with amk's review - it was alright, nothing special. Unanimous verdict from family.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
20 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: andreab
This casserole was easy and absolutely delicious. I agree with the previous reviewer, the brandy made it special. It seems like just a tiny amount, but don't skip it! We'll make again, thank you
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
05 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: amk
Maybe my hopes were too high after reading the 2 reviews below but for me there was nothing special about this dish.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
30 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: mrsnorris
I was delighted with this stew. It was a nice change from my usual recipe, and the wine and brandy lent wonderful flavour. My entire family loved it. I used olive oil rather than vegetable oil.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes