My Reviews (91)

Sirloin Tips with Portobello Mushroom Sauce

This is a pretty straightforward way of barbecuing sirloin tips but with a great mushroom and burgundy sauce.
Reviews (91)


22 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: Rod_R
This recipe is the bomb. I pan fried Sirloin steaks and used the same pan w/sucs to make the sauce while the meat was resting, Added the resting meat juices to the sauce. Shake your flour w/h20 in a jar b4 adding to sauce to prevent lumps.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: robepp
Good recipe but not great because it just needs more flavor. I suggest using fresh rosemary instead of thyme and triple the shallots. The wine flavor was just not strong enough so I added more at the last minute. Mushrooms were the best part. I give a 3-star rating because I think recipes need to be great if you follow them. If much tweaking is needed then the rating should drop.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 May 2006
Reviewed by: Marissa
Pretty good. I didn't have any wine so I didn't use any which probably made a difference! I would HIGHLY recommend low sodium beef broth. I did not and the salt overpowered the sauce.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: Betty Crocker
Fantastic with the few ingredients involved. I don't grill, so I seared large cubes of sirloin and let it simmer in my dutch oven for 4 hours. Very tender meat. I would use less butter next time because 1/4 cup was just too much for my taste. Also I used more broth to compensate for the omission of wine. I subbed rosemary for the thyme.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: paulettep
I used regular mushrooms and it was amazing. Will try with portobello soon.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: blueyedkids
used half the wine (husband not a fan of cooking with any wine) more beef broth to make up for the liquid...while grilling meat I added some montreal rub to it...used corn starch in place of flour and used some of broth to make roue (sp) SWEET! Kids (fussy little ones) LOVED it ...so did rest of family!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Sep 2003
Reviewed by: SUSU71
Very good. I didn't grill my sirloin tips, I cooked them in beef broth on the stove, over low heat for a couple of hours. They were very tender. My sauce didn't thicken as well as I would have liked, but my husband and sons didn't care. They thought it was great. It was very easy and I didn't have any leftovers. This one is a keeper!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: Life Tastes Good
This was a big hit. I made it exactly as the recipe stated and I used a $12 bottle of Cabernet Sauvignon. The sauce is amazing!! Don't rush the thickening of the sauce and it will be perfect.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: Jacky
This was sooooooo good! My entire family LOVED it! I followed the recipe exactly as it is stated. This is now a definate favorite in our family!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: kstecker
Very good. I used sirloin tips, browned in the pan with some EVOO, then followed the recipe but did add 2 cloves of garlic and a pinch of thyme. Easy to make and hubby enjoyed it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes