My Reviews (91)

Sirloin Tips with Portobello Mushroom Sauce

This is a pretty straightforward way of barbecuing sirloin tips but with a great mushroom and burgundy sauce.
Reviews (91)


26 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: VORCHA
I've made this twice now. The first time I found the sauce gummy and thought adding the flour ruined a beautiful sauce. So the second time I dropped the second can of broth and flour and instead whisked in 2 tablespoons of cold unsalted butter to thicken the sauce. The butter adds richness, intensfies the flavors and gives the sauce a lovely sheen. Because beef broth can be very weak tasting, I added 2 tablespoons of beef demi-glace.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: RANDOMFAERIE
This was easy, fairly quick, and lovely! Rather than grill the steak, I cut it into bite-size pieces and browned it before cooking the mushrooms, etc.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: Noeller67
WOW! This was fabulous - my husband was blubbering with happiness over this dish. We added a bit of fresh rosemary to the sauce BEFORE reducing it - I think it added a terrific flavor. Also omitted any added salt since the broth is salty (used 99% fat free). Did not grill the sirloin tip but cooked it in the oven and it turned out great. Will absolutely make this again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Feb 2005
Reviewed by: Jodi
Classic indeed. Only used 1 cup of wine and 1 can of broth to start. Reduced it to 1/2 to intensify a bit more and added another cup of broth with the flour wisked into that. Also added the nummy juices from the grilled steak from the "resting" plate. Only used 2 4" portabella caps, that was plenty. This was the perfect companion for a candlelite dinner and a bottle of good wine. Thank you.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Jul 2004
Reviewed by: THERESA_M
I thought this was a solid, reliable mushroom sauce -- nothing out-of-this-world unique, but just right when you want something classic. We used this over sirloin steaks, and it worked out great. Preparation was easy and the kind of thing you can have on the stove while multitasking preparation for something else! I used plenty of garlic -- probably quadruple what the recipe called for. I used cornstarch instead of flour for thickening, and I would NOT recommend doing that -- it made it a bit too gooey. Next time I will definitely try flour. Great overall though!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Aug 2005
Reviewed by: fishinwidow
I though this recipe was very good! I halved the amount of wine and broth needed for the sauce and I still ended up with enough for leftovers. Instead of using a shallot, I used a vidalia onion because that's what I had on hand and I like the taste.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Nov 2007
I have made this mushroom sauce many times and I have to say it is wonderful! I use a cabernet that I would drink in a glass. Cheap wine has no place in this recipe! It cost more to make but it is oh so worth it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Apr 2004
Reviewed by: JDVMD
Came in late last night after soccer practices and games, the computer was down so I couldn't access allrecipes to get my recipe and I just tried to remember the best that I could. After I mixed in the ingredients, the computer comes back up and wouldn't you know, I had combined two different recipes. I will be posting the same review for both because it worked great. I used regular portabellas and used no flour in this recipe. I think the sirloin maybe was a little dried out and next time I wouldn't brown as long as I did. However, the sauce was great when combined with the other recipe (see reviews). Went great with Yellow Tail Shiraz Cab and I actually used a straight Shiraz instead of burgundy in the recipe. Very good recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Jun 2006
Reviewed by: Momof2
I thought this was very good...hubby liked as well. I followed the recipe exactly. The only change I will make in the future is to cut down on the wine and to add garlic to the dish. Overall the taste was very flavorful (but I think the wine was a little dominant). Will definately make again, thanks for thepost.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Jun 2002
Reviewed by: GIGEGRL
What a great, easy sophisticated dish. My family loved it and I can't wait to serve to friends. I'm recommending this to everyone.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes