My Reviews (34)

Chocolate Pecan Biscuits

I made up this biscuit recipe when I was going through my kitchen cupboards. They have oats, coconut, chocolate chips and pecans.
Reviews (34)


15 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: naples34102
Did you ever already know something was going to be good just by mixing up the dough or batter? This was one of those times for me. First, you're already a step ahead given the inviting array of ingredients - oatmeal, chocolate chips, pecans, coconut. I figured these were going to be rich and delicious, provided the dough turned out well, and it did. No wimpy, sissy cookie this! This is a hearty, chewy, flavorful cookie, with loads of contrasting textures. This is a perfect, old-fashioned, basic, lunch-box or cookie jar favorite. One worth making whether you're "spring cleaning" or not. I made no changes other than using half-and half for the evaporated milk- the recipe (and cookie!) is darn good, just as it stands, although there's plenty of room for improvising to include whatever's in your pantry. Just a word of caution - watch baking time carefully! I made fairly good-sized cookies and they were done in 10 minutes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: Cj Kach
This recipe is definately a keeper! My family really enjoyed eating these cookies. I did make a few ingredient changes: Instead of using 1/2 cup butter and 1/2 cup shortening, I used 1 cup butter; instead of 2 TBSP evaporated milk, I used 2 TBSP 2% milk; and lastly instead of using 2 cups all-purpose flour, I used 1 cup all-purpose flour and 1 cup whole wheat flour. As another reviewer suggested, I baked for approximately 10 mins. They were 'too' yummy; it was hard to stop at one cookie. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Mar 2001
Reviewed by: MANTABIROSTRIS
I just made these after I saw the recipe, because I had a bunch of ingredients that needed to be used too. I overcooked the first sheet full, but I tasted one of those and they were pretty tasty even over-browned. A very good balance of flavors, and very easy to make. It helps to have a stand mixer that you can throw everything into instead of breaking your arm mixing it all yourself. Great cookies, Lisa!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: KleenexDust
Haha, I laughed when I saw these were called spring cleaning cookies because this really IS all the ingredients people have left over!! I had everything on the list so I decided to bake them regardless....GOOD DECISION!! I followed the recipe EXACTLY and they turned out beautifully. Baked one batch at 15 mins, and another at 13 to give a choice between chewy or crispy. Lovely!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: Dan Durante
I never tell anyone where I found this. As far as they know these are MY cookies. Keeping this one secret from the family, too good to share with them. Only one that doesn't like them is my mother and thats because she thinks no one can make anything better then her.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 May 2009
Reviewed by: lisamarie78
I added peanut butter to the butter and sugar mixture as well....
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: Sara
I have made a similar recipe, basically without the milk which I think makes them more "cake" like. I would make them again but without the milk.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: MyLauraLee
Fantastic! Used all butter (not a fan of the artificial ingredients in shortening), one cup white/one cup whole wheat flour, and half & half instead of evaporated milk (just b/c I didn't have any EM). For my add-ins, I used what I had in the pantry - coconut, semi-sweet choc chips, white choc chips, rolled oats, and craisins (soaked in warm water for 15 min to plump them up before draining and adding). Hubs says they are addicting! Thanks for a great recipe to use up all the leftovers in the pantry!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Aug 2008
Reviewed by: Anne
I subsituted maple extract for vanilla, and then used one cup of margarine instead of the butter & shortening. The cookies came out crunchy and delicious! A perfect recipe. You can't taste the coconut at all, it just gives the cookies a terrific texture. Using an electric mixer is recommended, though!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: lmeakim
Love these! I'm starting to think I'm eating more dough than cookies, but they're delicious either way! I've been using my small pampered chef cookie scoop and so far have gotten five dozen and have only used about 2/3 of the dough. Lucky for me, cuz these aren't going to last long at my house! Thanks for a keeper!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes