My Reviews (441)

Spinach and Three Cheese Lasagne

This is a hearty vegetarian lasagne with spinach and three cheeses - ricotta, Romano and mozzarella.
Reviews (441)


04 Aug 2004
Reviewed by: SARAHWILKERSON
Fantastic! Our new favorite lasagna recipe. A few changes: I chopped the raw spinach and sauteed it with the onions, mushrooms, and garlic until onions were tender-crisp. I was skeptical about using a whole onion, but it really provided extra flavor and texture. Also, I omitted the parmesan (which appears in the directions but not in the ingredient list) and just sprinkled extra romano on the last layer. I wasn't sure where I was supposed to end up with the layering process, so after the romano, I topped it off with a layer of noodles, my last bit of sauce, and a good sprinkling of mozzarella cheese. For the sake of evennness throughout, next time I will alter the layering portions to 2c filling (three inside layers), 3/4c cheese (three inside layers plus top), and just over 3/4c sauce (three inside layers plus top). Thanks Robbie for the recipe!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Mar 2002
Reviewed by: Mimi
I made this for a dinner party, and it was a hit! I did make a few changes, though. I substituted 1 14-oz can chopped artichoke hearts (non-marinated) for the mushrooms. Also, I did not pre-cook the noodles, but instead just ran them under hot water before layering them and added about 1/3 cup water to the cheese mixture. They turned out perfectly. I was also very generous with the tomato sauce. I will probably add more spinach next time. There were no kids at the party, so I'm not sure about the kid-friendly rating...but my husband, who hates all vegetables, ate two helpings!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: MARY DOMAZ
This is an excellent recipe if you make adjustments to the amount of the ingredients. To me, you cannot call this recipe Spinach Lasagna if you use only 2 cups of fresh spinach. I believe I ended up using at least 10 cups. I had a 1 lb. tub of baby spinach and used almost all of it. I also increased the mushrooms to 4 cups. For the ricotta I bought a pound and a half from the deli. I did not boil the spinach. I sauted it with the onions, mushrooms and garlic. This saves a step and a pot. I have no idea how you use up 20 lasagna noodles in a 9 x 13 pan. I always use nine noodle and make 3 layers. For this recipe I layered a little differently than the direction.. I just mixed the ricotta cheese, Roman Cheese, egg and spices. I did not add the mushroom mixture. I layered as follows: Sauce at bottom of pan, layer of noodles, spread half of the ricotta mixture, sprinkled 1 cup of mozzarella, spread half of the spinach mixture, spread 1 cup of sauce and sprinkled 1/3 cup parmesan. I repeated this layering one more time. Then I placed the top layer of noodles, I put the remaining mozzarella and parmesan on top of the noodles and then topped it with the remaining sauce. I found it took longer than 1 hour to cook. This recipe turned out great. I am not so sure I would have liked it as well with the amount of spinach and mushrooms called for. This received excellent reviews from everyone who tried. it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: MELS MARTINEZ
I love spinach lasagna, and this one went over quite well. I did add quite a bit more spinach than just 2 cups fresh - that will hardly give you anything once it's cooked. I also tried a new technique and bought baby spinach in a package and didn't cook it. I layered the noodles, cheese mix and spaghetti sauce with the fresh spinach, packing in quite a bit of the fresh stuff. It turned out pretty well! And it saved a step (and a pan). Also used no-boil noodles for the first time, and was surprised to find that they actually do work pretty well (and save another step and pan). I have made lasagna based on this a few times since (not bothering to follow the recipe exactly - just from memory). I've also used frozen spinach and it works well. Thanks for a yummy recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: Chucky
Can't say enough about this recipe. (I finally registered on this site after years so that I could rate this one!) The Ricotta/Mushroom/Spinach filling was the key. (TIP: This filling is Fantastic used to stuff/ bake with Salmon.) And like others I am sure I used a load more spinach. Don't worry about people not liking the spinach, because my husband the Carnivore was fighting with his picky brother for the leftovers! By the way, this freezes well! I froze it uncooked and baked from frozen at temp stated. My only changes: didn't have the romano and added a tad bit of FRESH grated nutmeg to the spinach. And make sure you use a good (not overpowering) sauce. Thanks Robbie!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: kat
This was delicious. I followed another reviewer's tips and sauteed artichokes with the onions and garlic and also added extra tomato sauce with each layer to keep it moist. I also doubled the boiled spinach and even added fresh spinach to each layer and it was so good. I used 5 pieces of lasagna for each of the three layers. I also removed the foil 5-7 minutes before the end of the hour to let the cheese bubble up and crust a little. Everyone LOVED it and the leftovers were ridiculously good. Will definitely make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: Sweetiekins
UPDATE: During Lent 2011, I made this recipe for my boyfriend's Catholic family for dinner on a Friday, and while they were making fun of me for my "hippie lasagna" they liked it. I went to grab leftovers out of the fridge for lunch the next day, and they had already been consumed by people who made fun of me and my hippie lasagna. ORIGINAL REVIEW: This was amazing! My roommate is a vegetarian, so we decided to try this one night. I wasn't keen on the idea because I'd tried many terrible meatless lasagnas in the past. But, one bite and I was hooked. You barely even notice that it's lacking a meat flavor. I did make some changes...I used light cheese and had to use cooked frozen spinach because fresh was banned at the time. We used Prego sauce. I also forgot to add the egg. We had a lot of filling left, probably because we like thin layers. I'd recommend this recipe...even to people who love meaty lasagna!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: corsi
My picky-eater girlfriend won't touch mushrooms, so I substituted brocolli. To spare a few steps and dirty dishes, I sauteed the brocolli with the onions, then added the spinach to cook. Then, after allowing some time to cool, I stirred the cheeses, egg, and herbs right into the veggies in the pan. No electric mixer needed.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: tInA*671*
This had to be one the best recipes for lasagna I've ever tried let alone made. The only changes I made to this was I added an additional clove of minced garlic, substituted 1 cup ricotta for cream cheese, and used baby portabellas as my mushroom of choice. I had my family over and they are meat lovers but opened their eyes with this recipe! I will make it a point to keep this one in my personal recipe stash.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Feb 2013
Reviewed by: Mrs.Humphreed
After many concerns and no answers on other reviews here are my own answers after finishing the recipe: YES you can make ahead, I stored mine uncooked in the fridge overnight and cooked it next day for dinner, just don’t cook the noodles; buy pre-cooked and add a little bit more sauce. YES you can use cottage cheese, just drain it for a while and press it so most of the water comes off the taste is very similar to ricotta and cheaper. YES you can add a layer of meat, just cook it with a little minced garlic and olive oil. NO the spinach is not enough, add 1 more cup. And finally YES you can cook the spinach with the mushroom/onion mix.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes