My Reviews (56)

Rice Pudding, Portuguese Style

This rice pudding couldn't be simpler and is just deliciously rich and creamy. I like to sprinkle it with a little cinnamon just before serving.
Reviews (56)


06 Aug 2012
Reviewed by: MissAngela
We ran out of milk, so quite a few changes were made; we used equal parts soy milk and rum to make up the difference in liquid so the rice could cook. It was absolutely delicious. I also added an old banana, a crumbled up old bun, a handful of raisins and some generous dashes of cinnamon, nutmeg, and allspice. So what really happened was this hybrid rice-bread pudding, and everybody loved it. Thanks for the great start!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: drodrigues101
It didn't do anything for me. I was really grossed out by adding the egg once it was removed from the heat. It's just missing something. Some lemon peel maybe??
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Dec 2018
Reviewed by: Shannon Costa Duarte
My family adds unsalted butter to the milk and lemon zest. So delicious! I make this on special occasions. I can see how some add vanilla. That sounds good too.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Oct 2018
Reviewed by: Gerrie
I liked it but added lemon peel and made it thicker. Very nice thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Mar 2016
Reviewed by: Brenda Araújo
I hate eggs so I was scared to put 2 eggs and to taste like it so I only put one and it came out AMAZING!!! First time I've ever done and it came out delicious. Everyone loved it...
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Mar 2016
Reviewed by: Leah24
So easy and delicious! I doubled the recipe for a cultural event at my son's school and everyone loved it! I made it with whole milk. I followed the advice of others and added vanilla and topped with cinnamon.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Feb 2016
Reviewed by: tweckles
The only sweet rice I will eat, just the way my Avo (grandmother) used to make it! Delicious, I finally have found her recipe, she passed before writing it down for me.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Feb 2016
Reviewed by: missrochester
Excellent! This recipe is Absolutely Delish!! Loved it!! I did have to use light brown sugar and it worked out Wonderfully!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Oct 2015
Reviewed by: Elizabeth Law
I have made this many times, it's an old family favourite from Portugal. I always add Lemon peel while cooking(large pieces so they can be removed when done) and I only use top quality Arborio rice , it has the best texture. If you don't want to use the lemon peel add pure lemon extract.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Aug 2015
Reviewed by: Rshellcab
I use 4 c milk, 1/2 stick butter, 1/2 c sugar and a pinch of salt, use 1 c River Rice for best results, cook on lowest simmer with lid cocked to vent and DO NOT STIR, ( using a quality pot helps ) Add 1/4 cup sugar to 4 beaten egg yolks and add when all liquid is absorbed, sprinkle with cinnamon
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes