My Reviews (20)

Baked Spicy Squid

Perfect as an appetizer or as part of a main; squid is stuffed with a tasty raisin and pine nut combination then cooked in a rich tomato and white wine sauce.
Reviews (20)


05 Mar 2005
Reviewed by: WINELOVER813
This was spectacular! I used already cleaned squid. I didn't have stewed tomatoes so I used diced canned tomatoes and I didn't have anchovy paste but I did have a can of anchovies so I took 4 of them and just smushed them up. The little bit of sweet and spicy was wonderful. Don't be overwhelmed by the ingredient list, it was very easy to make.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: JimH
Followed this recipe except my clean & frozen squid bodies didn't have tentacles to chop. I chopped some end pieces and mixed them into the stuffing, but it added nothing. Maybe tentacles would have added some chew, but really unnecessary. I was blown away how good this simple sauce was and can't wait to apply it to pasta dishes. My wife said we should make this for company. Could be a tough sell over the phone. "I bought too much squid. How about coming over..." Don't cut the cooking time short or the squid will be tough.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Jun 2006
Reviewed by: Tanya
Very good. You have to use thicker squid. One was thick and held well. The other was thin and broke during cooking. Fun recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 May 2010
Reviewed by: Shannon Pedigo Skaggs
Excellent! I followed the recipe, but I think next time I'll make a thicker sauce rather than the marinara type as listed. Just a personal preference!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: mspangler
Great dish. I am a squid lover so am biased. The surprising result from cooking in the oven in this style is that the squid is amazingly tender. All who try it are amazed it is squid because of the tenderness. I bought the squid frozen from the grocery freezer and thaw as needed. The thicker the squid - the better for this recipe. Get some italian bread -- the spicy tomato sauce deserves to be dipped!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: NainInCandia
I made this for Christmas eve as we had an ethnic theme. This covered the category for portuguese and italian main dish. Next time I will find larger squid as the smaller ones were time consuming and difficult to stuff. My family was hesitant to try them but there were hardly any left. I loved the combination of ingrediants and would make again. Give it a try!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Nov 2004
Reviewed by: BEACHEMPIRE
this tastest wonderful
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 May 2012
Reviewed by: Melbar
OH, MY, GOD! Soooooo amazing. This recipe was delicious. I had 8 Squids and I am so glad I did, cuz we all went crazy over this. The sauce was so flavorful. I used Cabernet instead of white and my house smelled amazing while this was cooking. Reminded me of my Vovo's kitchen... very Portuguese smelling/tasting to me. I followed the recipe with the following changes: I had no pine nuts to add... I added peas to the rice instead I used cab instead white wine (used 3/4 cup too) doubled the amount of squid (8 total) added a little marinara sauce to insure the squid were covered (plenty of sauce, though, but psyched to have so much left over) I think I'll use a little less anchovy because of the added salt, tough call though, cuz the flavor is so good! Hours later, we are still raving and this house smells so good! TRY IT!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: Sue
Cooked rice will only expand and get mushy after baking for an hour. (Perhaps dry bread crumbs is better.) And the squid is way too chewy and inedible. Sorry but to be fair since the other reviews were the only reason I tried this recipe. We basically had to throw it out and eat leftovers. A good concept that needs a lot of tweaking - which I dare not try for fear of wasted ingredients.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: Jen
EXCELLENT! As others have said, this recipe makes the squid VERY tender. Cut with a fork, easy to chew, and flavorful! Recipe withstands tweaking well. Usually I try to follow the recipe as written the first time, but I had to make due with what I had on hand. I used a whole grain/wild rice blend instead of white rice and it came out great (whole rice tends to not mush like white does). Didn't have anchovy paste, used hoisin paste instead (the only "paste" I had) and it still came out wonderful. Used craisins instead of raisins and sliced almonds instead of pinenuts. Would be better with pinenuts (what isnt?), but still gave it a good crunch. Will definitely be making this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes