My Reviews (108)

White Clam Pasta Sauce

This is a quick and easy weeknight dinner we make using tinned clams but it also works well with crab.
Reviews (108)


29 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: JDOWNING
Wow - this was good! I took some of the other reviews suggestions and did the following: cut the oil in half - used 1/4 cup of white wine instead, lightens the oily taste, minced 5 cloves of garlic. Slipped in a few LIGHT shakes of red pepper flakes - be careful - this added A LOT of flavor. I combined all ingredients except the clams and allowed to them to come to a boil. I prepared the sauce in a large deep saucepan. Added the clams 2/3 minutes before the Spaghetti is al dente. Drain pasta and transferred it all to the sauce, cooked it altogether for 2 minutes and removed. Don't let the clams cook too long, they will come out rubbery.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: rdonohue
This was delicious. Although, I have to admit to changing the recipe after reading almost all of the reviews, and looking at a few other recipes. The compilated recipe follows: 1/4 c. butter, 2 T. flour, 5-6 large garlic cloves minced, 1 T. dried parsley, 1/4 tsp. dried oregano, 1/4 tsp. dried basil, 1/4 tsp. black pepper, red pepper flakes-optional-to taste-pinch, 1/4 c. olive oil, 1/4 c. white wine, 2(6.5 oz) cans minced clams in juice, 1/4 c. whipping cream, 1 lb. linguine, Romano or Parm. for sprinkling on top. Melt butter in deep saute pan. Add flour and spices, combine well. Add olive oil, wine, and juice from clams. Simmer over low heat until well combined and reduced a bit. Cook noodles. Right before adding cooked noodles to sauce add the minced clam meat and whipping cream to sauce--this keeps clams from getting rubbery. Toss well to coat. Serve with grated cheese. Made for anniversary dinner. Easy, impressive looking, wonderful!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Oct 2003
Reviewed by: JARHEAD85
My family loves linguine with white clam sauce. This proved to be a simple yet delicious recipe. Can't wait to make again. Spice it up with 1/2 tsp of hot pepper flakes. You'll love it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Aug 2000
Reviewed by: LAURA B.
This recipe went over big at my house. My husband has instructed me never to buy canned clam sauce again. He made me make twice this week! I substituted one can of whole baby clams for one of the cans of minced clams...delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: figment_jii
Tasted pretty good, but made some minor changes. Increased the butter to 1/4 cup, used 3 cans of clams, added 1/4 tsp thyme, and added 1/2 cup water and 1/2 cup white wine.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: Gaileen Johnson White
Not being a huge marinara fan, I nearly always choose white clam sauce for my pasta. So, I've tried lots of different ones. I was very disappointed with this particular recipe. (Sorry!) I thought it used WAY too much olive oil. (1/2 cup!) The sauce was very thin and watery, even though I later tried to doctor it up by adding a slosh of heavy cream. The flavor of the sauce was pretty good. But it was much too thin and watery and oily for my taste. Not a fan of this recipe, wanted something more rich and creamy. Just my personal preference. :-)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Jun 2003
Reviewed by: McRae Family
We are major clam lovers. I used a 10 oz can of whole clams plus a 6.5 oz can minced and will double it, at least, next time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Jan 2013
Reviewed by: heidi9165
I have to shake my head at those who review this recipe and comment over and over that it is too greasy or oily....hello? This is white clam sauce - it is butter, oil and garlic - it is supposed to be that way! Throwing a lot of cream in, etc., now you are moving towards a heavy alfredo and that is not what I would ever expect. Make this recipe AS IS, with a splash of wine. It's delicious.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 May 2006
Reviewed by: barb57
Excellent recipe. I added more garlic and used fresh parsley with one can of minced clams and one can of whole clams. My husband said it was better than any restaurant
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Apr 2003
Reviewed by: C_MK
Easy and tasty. I found that my family likes it better with an extra can of clams.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes