My Reviews (33)

Portuguese Spicy Broad Beans

Broad beans in a spicy sauce based on garlic, paprika, tomato and chilli. This is one of my favourite recipes - you have to try it!
Reviews (33)


Comment:
29 Sep 2008
lisalisa said:
Used different ingredients. This recipe was great! I made it yesterday knoing I would eat it tonight to let the flavours meld overnight. Yum! I love spicy food, but the amount of hot red capsicumseemed like way too much to me (I think 2 TBS may be a mistake!), so I cut down quite a bit on it. I used 2 cans of butter beans in this in tead of favas and it was yummy. I served it over polenta sliced and it was delicious! Thanks for the recipe!
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: SMOMBOUR
I make this often, served with Portuguese Broa (cornmeal bread)and it's a real family favourite. 2 T. of pepper flakes would blow the tops of my kids' heads off so I just add to taste. I use a bit more tomato sauce. I come from an Italian family and we make a similar dish that includes pancetta bacon.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: CATHPETE
Reminds me of the favas served at the Portuguese feasts in Rhode Island. Bless you for bringing a little bit of home to my neck of the woods.
 
01 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: Studebaker
Hey thanks for this recipe. We had tapas on my terrace on NYE and the broad beans were amazing. I only used two dessert spoons of crushed chilli and it still packed a punch. Took a little longer than anticipated due to time taken peeling broad beans but was totally worth the trouble. Yum.
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
Used different ingredients. These are great but to make them even better I add chourico. That's how my mum used to make them.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: ellen
just like the favas at the fall river feasts..I like mine with hard boiled eggs
 
11 Feb 2010
As a Portuguese who now lives in Portugal, I recomend adding in some bacon cubes along with Portuguese chouriço sliced but not to thin, let it stew with the fava beans, when all cooked try using fresh chopped ciliantro sprinkled over top, its absolutly wonderful.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Jun 2006
Reviewed by: SENIORGAL
Reminds me of the favas served at the Portuguese feasts in Rhode Island. Bless you for bringing a little bit of home to my neck of the woods.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: Fatima
These are great but to make them even better I add chourico. That's how my mom used to make them.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: Caffienefrog
I grew up on portuguese food and must admit that this was very good. a little too spicy, so next time, i will cut back on the red pepper flakes. juicy, flavorful, colorful... great over rice! even better the next day!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes