My Reviews (114)

Italian Sausage Tomato Pasta Sauce

This is a delicious tomato pasta sauce which is best if simmered all day. Add a pinch of sugar if you find it too acidic.
Reviews (114)


06 Jun 2006
Reviewed by: magsporter
This sauce was amazing! My friend raved over the smell when she came in my front door. She said it smelled like "real sauce". When she tasted it her exact words "It's just right. Not to sweet and not to spicy". I will definitely make this again. My one suggestion would be to make sure you use the Italian Sausage, I don't think it would be as good with out the extra kick from the seasonings of the sausage.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 May 2008
Reviewed by: Kelly DFW
This recipe is THE best! I had a similar experience as the last person who commented...my boyfriend walked in the door and said he could smell the sauce from outside our home and that it smelled fanstastic. I stayed completely true to the recipe except for a couple of things-which were only due to personal preference. I used 1 lb of ground beef instead of sausage and added half of a chopped white onion while seasoning beef. Also added 1/2 teaspoon of red pepper flakes that gave the sauce a small zing. We LOVED it and both agreed this recipe will be a staple in our home. Thank you so much for submitting this :-)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: What a Dish!
This was a very good sauce. I used a whole pound of sausage, because I had a pound in the freezer that I wanted to use. Great flavor. I used fresh basil and oregano, but added those at the end. I did add some dried in the beginning. Also used 3 cloves fresh garlic, and some dried onion. I used two larger cans of tomato sauce (14 oz?) instead of the smaller ones and one can was no-salt-added. This sauce was still a little too salty for me, probably because of the evaporated liquid during the long simmer. The long simmer is essential though (I did a little over an hour) to develop that great thick texture and great flavor. Mine got a little too thick, so I added a splash of water at the end. Served over whole-wheat spaghetti.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 May 2007
Reviewed by: Guynell
this is some really good tasteing spaghetti and a little spicy.I used the "hot" italian sausage--very good and I would highly recomend it and I give it five stars--very very good
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: ~TAYLOR~
This sauce was surprisingly good! All I did was add some rosemary, doubled the garlic powder and added a pinch of brown sugar. Served over thin spaghetti with garlic toast and a caesar salad. I will make this recipe again... we scarfed it down! Thank you, Foxworth!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: Carolyn
Everyone loves this recipe. I use it exactly as shown, but use the italian diced tomatoes with spices. I also use a crock pot and cook for 4 - 6 hours and it turns out absolutely fabulous!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: Sia
Wow, this recipe is amazing. I found it better than restaurant quality! Only one thing I changed was using minced beef, instead of Italian sausage, and adding finely cut red onion. Although the original yield probably serves about 4, I find that I can't help but eat about 1.5 servings so probably better to increase the amounts Thanks for a great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: Katie
Had to add a pinch of sugar so it didnt taste so acidic.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: KELLYCLARK22
I rarely follow a recipe to a "Tee," but this time I did. I don't think this could serve 6 people. My family of 4 are not big eaters, but there was not enough for us 2 adults and 2 children. I let it simmer for nearly 3 hours (having to turn it off from the "low" setting,) several times. The sauce turned out rather thick. The flavors were very good though. Because of the thickness we did have to add just regular jar sauce. I did rate this following the recipe before adding the jar sauce. Thanks for sharing and I will try again!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: eholmes678
This was the first spaghetti sauce I had ever made and my last. It's so easy and it works well in pretty much any recipe that calls for spaghetti sauce. Thanks for the great recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes