My Reviews (49)

Chicken Soup with Spaetzle Dumplings

The dumplings are simple to make, and you can use frozen chicken breast if you don't have time to use a whole chicken.
Reviews (49)


14 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: Suze
I REALLY recommend going to Youtube and researching how spaetzle is done (if nothing else than to see what it's supposed to look like) before doing this recipe, if you're not familiar with it. I followed the instructions as I understood them here, and ended up with something that looked like boiled mini-baguettes.... After looking into it, leaving the dough relatively thin and wet, and working it through a colander or maybe a cheese grater, might be the way to go. I kept adding flour trying to get it to form a ball per the directions, which was a big mistake. The soup's flavor is good, and I'm going to try to rescue what's left somehow....
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 May 2008
Reviewed by: Lynn B. Weterrings
My grandmother taught me this too! My kids love the homemade noodles. If you roll out the dough and flour each side lightly, then roll it up and slice into noodle ribbons, that works. I have the kids unroll them and throw on a cookie sheet to "dry" a little so it doesn't soak up all the broth. Then I can add the noodles when I am ready.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: Juice
I made this recipe with "Grandma's Noodles II" (from this site), and it was AWESOME! I didn't use a whole chicken - I used boneless, skinless breasts. I cut them frozen and cooked them right in the broth with the onions and celery. The chicken came out so moist. My husband is a tried and true "meat and potatoes" guy, so I was a bit doubtful that he'd enjoy this meal of chicken noodle soup with warm applesauce on the side. HE LOVED IT! Three bowls later, he was to full for dessert :-) This will be one of our cold weather staples!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: Jennifer
The best chicken spaetzle ever! Soooo delicious. My father likes the dumplings very hearty, so I added about the dough in 1/2 and added 1/4 to 1/3 a cup of extra flour. Very hearty, but more like dumplings than spaetzle. The dumplings that followed this recipe were yummy. Be sure to roll the dumplings into somewhat small balls. Grease your ice cream scoop, and the balls should be 1/2 the size. I made the mistake of using the whole ice cream scoop and they soon turned out like baseballs. This is also a somewhat time consuming soup, but the soup is still worth the effort.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: chefblackhat
After years (I'm serious) this is the very first recipe for spaetzle that exactly matches my mother's (and her's) way of making it! I'm psyched. This recipe is almost identical to the thickened chicken stew I make today, having watched at my mom's apron strings. Our family is PA Dutch and I wonder if this unique preparation of spaetzle is regional... sometimes I will do the noodles on their own in boiling water, straing them, then fry until golden in butter. Yum. Thank you. GREAT recipe!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: MRSREAMESNOODLE
make the broth while you prep the noodles...add the noodles while you finsh the broth... what a great muti-tasking recipe for the modern day women... and great tasting too!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: Abby
Coming from Dutch heritage, My mom makes my grandmothers recipe for spaetzle and chicken soup regularly. Now that I'm on my own, this soup is one of the many things I miss. This recipe isn't an exact match for my mom/grandmothers, but is as close as it can get. LOVE IT! I had a hard time with the spaetzles but maybe I just need practice.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Aug 2005
Reviewed by: SANDYMAGS
This soup is great. It has a wonderful flavor. I would recommend cutting off any excess fat from the chicken before cooking. I used three cloves of fresh garlic instead of the garlic salt. I tried cutting the spaetzle as directed but found it very difficult. If you have a spaetzle press I strongly recommend using it...much easier. This one is a keeper!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: DuPieChelle
This soup was very good. I added dill to the soup, and it was awesome. Kid and hubby loved it, too.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: LINDA MCLEAN
When I make chicken soup I prefer to use the carcass from a roasted chicken. I think it adds more flavor. I grew up eating spaetzle but never had it in soup. It was delicious Carly and thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes