My Reviews (11)

Chicken Salad

This chicken salad is a meal in itself. Mayonnaise and buttermilk lend a lovely flavour that matches well with the grapes and cashews.
Reviews (11)


27 Apr 2002
Reviewed by: CORINNE G
The chicken is beautifully tender, the overall taste is dill (I could not taste the buttermilk). I found it a little too "mayonnaisey", next time I will use half mayonnaise and half sour cream. My husband loved it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 May 2003
Reviewed by: JSDOUCET
Yumm! Similar to a Southern Living recipe that I lost. I used pecans instead of cashews for a real southern touch!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Jan 2004
Reviewed by: Mary K.
I did as another rater suggested and used half of the mayonnaise called for and used sour cream to substitute for the other half of the mayonnaise. The result was a rich, but lighter taste. Great served on a croissant!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Jun 2005
Reviewed by: Linda T
I stuck to the spirit of the recipe but did make some alterations. I did as others here did and subbed half of the mayo for sour cream. I used low fat mayo and fat free sour cream. I made this as a layered salad rather than mixing it all together, so I thinned out the dressing with a bit of vegetable stock and added a bit more seasoning. I used a big pile of lettuce for the base, scattered the celery, grapes and some broccoli slaw over that, topped that with some leftover shredded chicken, drizzled on the dressing and sprinkled it with cashews. Very tasty. I had this salad with a corn muffin and was very satisfied for dinner.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: Traci B
This is very good. I made it for several girlfriends and everyone loved it and wanted the recipe. I made croissant sandwiches and added slivered almonds instead of cashews.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: LindsWenz
This was such a great chicken salad recipe! The only thing I did differently was to use pre-cooked chicken, so I didn't need the white wine and other ingredients used to saute the chicken. Other than that, it was absolutely excellent! Everyone at the party loved it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: shine124
This chicken salad is wonderfull. I made a large batch to have through out the week for lunch. Like alot of others I did 1/2 mayo & 1/2 sour cream. My husband likes it as well but he felt that it was missing something & he thought it might be relish. So next time i'll try it with relish. I will for sure make this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: THREEISIT
Rated a 4 only because I used 1/2 sour cream and 1/2 mayo instead of all mayo. Really yummy salad - on bread or on lettuce. Thanks for sharing!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: Caroline C
I didn't bother with the wine, and I used torn up up Bibb lettuce leaves. Although next time I would omit the grapes, this was pretty good. Thanks, Lyn!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Feb 2012
Reviewed by: Baking Nana
This is a beautiful chicken salad. The crunch of the celery along with the salty cashews and sweetness of the grapes makes for a nice combination of flavors and textures. I found the amount of dressing to be excessive and only used maybe a third, if that. I hate to even say this but I did end up adding a tiny bit of seasoned salt to the final dish - it really added a lot to this recipe. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes