My Reviews (39)

Sour Cream Chocolate Ganache

Sour cream adds a tangy note to a ganache icing. This is perfect whether on cakes or cupcakes or muffins.
Reviews (39)


30 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: Lindsay Heevner
omg this is literally the bomb.com i am, going to make this as soon as i get home thank you for posting this i love it <3
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Jun 2012
Reviewed by: snap-hiss
This is definitely a slightly healthier way to make ganache. The soured cream givs a slightly unusual taste that wasn't really to my liking, but the others seemed to like it. It didn't set with a glaze for me
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
17 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: jlourie
We really like the slightly sour flavor the sour cream gives. I sometimes add a little Triple-Sec or other fruity liquoer.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: ROSEP47
Pure heaven, and the easiest recipe you'll ever find. Wish I'd known about this years ago!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: Sheri
Texture was good, but the tanginess from the sour cream was too overwhelming. A little disappointing, I was excited to see a recipe that had a alternative to heavy cream, which I never have on hand, to something that is part of my basic pantry list.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Jan 2013
Reviewed by: candy
This is a great recipe when you have no heavy whipping cream on hand! I also used white chocolate chips and it tasted wonderful. I put it on top of a chocolate bunt cake.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Dec 2012
Reviewed by: TexasTurbo
5 stars as a chocolate cheesecake topping. I agree that the sour cream could be tasted, but it was a great compliment to the cheesecake! It was very easy to make in the microwave. I just stirred every 10 seconds until it was perfectly smooth. So easy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: cece42
I didn't care for this recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: darthotto
Well, it doesnt taste like ganache. The sour cream is quite potent. But I think this tastes pretty good. It seems to enhance the chocolate flavor. This was not very sweet so I would recommend using milk chocolate if you like it sweet. I think it might help with the sour cream flavor too. I also used fat free sour cream. It hardened up just fine. Its a recipe in its own league but tastes good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: CHELSEAK3
I didn't really care for this. I love bitter chocolate and love sour cream in desserts, but this didn't go well together. I also thought the strong flavor took away from the cake I drizzled it on. I won't make this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes