My Reviews (39)

Sour Cream Chocolate Ganache

Sour cream adds a tangy note to a ganache icing. This is perfect whether on cakes or cupcakes or muffins.
Reviews (39)


13 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: BabySoose
I was looking for a recipe for classic ganache to top a chocolate cheesecake with and came across this recipe. Since sweetened sour cream is a classic plain cheescake topping I gave this one a try for my chocolate cheesecake. It was the PERFECT compliment to the rich cheesecake. Dense but not too heavy and sweet but refreshing in compliment to the intense chocolate of the cheesecake. EXCELLENT - thanks for a great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: Heather
used white chocolate instead and turned out great! i let it cool for a bit and used it for a filling for a carrot cake and then topped off the cake with a cream cheese icing. absolutely fabulous! definitely will be using this again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: m&msmom
Not at all what I had hoped for. The sour cream totally overpowerd the chocolate to the point that you almost couldn't taste it. I didn't even use this, I was so disappointed.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: Brandy
I am so pleased with how this turned out! I had an entire container of sour cream that was about to reach its expiration date and I decided this ganache would make a great topping for gingerbread. I substituted white chocolate chips for the regular chocolate. It tastes just like the topping found on carrot cake. Delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: Passion4food
I turned to this recipe when I needed to make a ganache & didn't have any cream. It does have a "sour cream", less sweet taste to it. But it's actually pretty nice! and if you pair it with a sweet chocolate cake, you're good to go! This pipes well. If you want it runny again, just chuck it into the microwave for about 20 seconds. Thanks!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: KASM75
I agree with a previous reviewer that the sour cream is overwhelming. I added sugar to it and that improved it, but it was still too sour.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: mebythesea
I tried this last week and it was just wonderful. I melted the chocolate chips in the microwave though. I turned on great. Thanks for the recipe KatieMac!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Dec 2010
I really liked this.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Feb 2012
Reviewed by: Kyra
Awesome!!!!!! I had no issues whatsoever with the sour cream overpowering the chocolate. It must be a matter of personal taste. I found this ganache great tasting and super easy to make, with things you are more likely to have in your pantry/fridge. Thank you for posting such a great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: kimmydeshon
I made this because I had made it before years ago to put on cheesecake. So lovely! It has a shine to it that is so pretty. I think you should add the sour cream in and taste as you go so that you do not get the sour taste you do not like. That is different for everyone so it is a good excuse to sample as you are adding. Yum! Anyway, I loved this on Black Magic Cake from this site. I also added some peppermint extract to make a mint chocolate cake. Super YUM! Here's to death by chocolate!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes