My Reviews (25)

Cinnamon Sugar Coffee Cake

This coffee cake has two layers of batter with a streak of cinnamon sugar in the middle. It is made with margarine instead of butter.
Reviews (25)


26 Sep 2005
I made this yesterday and only have 2 pieces left. I doubled the recipe and put it in a 9 x 13 pan. I added margarine instead of the shortening. I did not put in half of the batter first I spay coated the pan and put all of the batter in. Then I generously shook the cinnamon and sugar mixture over the top. I also took a knife and made swirly movements till it was all the way through the batter then I shook more cinnamon sugar on top. This was liked by all the boys as well as Hubby and I. I will definitely make this again. Thanks Terri for the good recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 May 2009
Reviewed by: Jillian
Light, fluffy and very good. I used butter instead of shortening and added 1 tsp. of vanilla to the batter. For the filling, I used brown sugar instead of white and took a knife and swirled it through the batter before baking. Very moist, I might add nuts to the filling next time for some crunch.....
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: Jennifer Cooper
I made this last night and it was meant to be a breakfast cake for hubby in the morning. Well, our home smelled so good while it was baking that we decided to eat some for dessert. It was still warm and light with a light flavor and crusty top. Delicious! This morning I found a note from hubby that it was wonderful in his milk for breakfast, too! I took someone else's advice and folded in the dry ingredients and sour cream instead of beating them in to avoid a tough batter. I used brown sugar for the filling/topping and also flecks of butter. The cake rose very well, and was very moist. I refrigerated it overnight and this morning it seemed heavier and denser. It was sweet but not overly so which is exactly what I like. Great recipe, Terri! It's going to be a regular at my house.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: Terry Call
Wow! Takes some time to mix but well worth the effort. I used brown sugar for the center/top and upped the amount to 1/3 cup. Used 1/2 for the middle layer and added toasted chopped pecans to the top along with about 1/4 stick of cold butter cut sliced and cut into quarters over the entire thing. When the butter melted and folded back into the cake there formed a very nice roll of the sugar, cinnamon down into the cake surface. This was a MUCH prettier and tasty presentation. Thanks Terri for a classic coffee cake!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Phantom
The basic recipe is fantastic. It does need more topping though. I have make this a couple time adding canned peaches, frozen blueberries, or jam and it works out perfectly. I've also used yogurt instead of the sour cream and it works just as well or better.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Apr 2006
Reviewed by: brownie
This was very easy to make and very tasty, however I think that brown sugar would be better for the cinnamon sugar mix that is put on top and in between the layers. I would also add a few toasted nuts to the topping to make it extra yummy. Overall, a winner!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: Melyssa Evans
This was a tasty recipe, but more of the cinnamon-sugar mix in multiple layers as well as laid in a 13x9 pan and this would be perfect!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: OTTOS2
This coffee cake was moist, mildly sweet, and had a beautiful crumb texture. I've already made this several times and have made it a "regular" on the weekend breakfast menu. I sometimes put in some fruit in the middle layer, with a little cinnamon and brown sugar, then put the remaining cinnamon mixture on top with some pecans.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: NutsBabyGirl
What can I say except Wow and double wow. I am a bakers daughter and found this cake to be moist, easy to make...but it was harder to keep any for myself and my morning cup of coffee. I did manage to take a photo to post here.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: Rotorwife
This coffee cake rose beautifully and has perfect texture but is a little on the bland side. I made the recipe exactly as written even though the other reviewers said it needed a little something. I will make again but will add some vanilla and brown sugar to spice it up a little. Thanks for submitting!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes