My Reviews (637)

Sour Cream Cinnamon Coffee Cake

This is a delicious cake made extra moist from the addition of sour cream. Great with a cup of tea or coffee.
Reviews (637)


01 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: naples34102
After reading through many of the 200+ reviews with all the changes, I thought it only fair to test and review this recipe as written. Other than putting it in a 9x9" pan, I made this with no changes. It's not difficult to imagine that some of the reviewers thought the cake was too sweet if they were doubling or even tripling the topping ingredients! The amount of topping as specified in the recipe is perfect, and makes for a not too sweet, "just hits the spot with a cup o' joe" coffeecake. That said, I thought the cake was a good, basic coffeecake- nice, but not extraordinary. I'll still keep trying other recipes until I find one that really distinguishes itself from others.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: MM MM GOOD
I was a little daunted by a full cup of butter, so I cut it in half and added ~1/4 C. extra sour cream instead...what a success!! This recipe is sooo good, and stays moist and fresh up to a few days. Excellent w/milk =)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: MAINE-MOMMY
I have tried many coffee cake recipies and this is by far the best...I did make a few minor changes. I baked the cake in a deep spring form pan and increased the cooking time to about an hour. I also doubled the crumb topping and and add fresh blueberries to the batter...PERFECT!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: cookiequeen
AWESOME MOIST COFFEE CAKE. I need my coffeecake to be very moist and this is the winner recipe for moistness. I did double the filling because the crumbs to me are so yummy. I also baked in a 9inch springform pan for an hour and it was perfect. Much easier to present on a dish and cut up when all you have to do is remove the sides of the springform pan. Next time I will add some chopped nuts to the crumb mixture and drizzle a conf sugar icing on top when its still warm(1 cup conf sugar, 1 tbs butter, 1 tbs milk or cream) and that would be the ultimate coffee cake! As a side note about all the reviews about the sugar being too much-I did not quite fill my cups full so I skimped a little- but I found it not to be too sweet at all.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Jan 2001
Reviewed by: Rebslo
Very good struesel coffee cake! I used a loaf pan instead of the pan suggested in the recipe and only used 1 1/2 cups sugar.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Jun 2003
Reviewed by: StephanieM
Soooo moist and rich! Every one I serve this too asks where I bought it Like others I also doubled the topping and used brown sugar instead of white. Next time I think I'll experiment a little, maybe the addition of some chocolate chips? *edit* I made this again recently as a counter to all the chocolate covered abominations during the holiday season in my office. This time I added a bag of Hershey's cinnamon chips to the bottom layer of the batter and whoa nelly...best coffee cake ever.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Jun 2004
Reviewed by: GAYLA73
I LOVE this cake!! Everytime I make it people just can't get enough, including my husband who doesn't like sweets. I doubled the topping and have added chopped pecans to it (1/4c), I've added a shredded Granny Smith Apple to the center layer, and I've added blueberries (1/4c) to the center layer also. Will keep this one around and make often.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: MONKEYJADE
Good recipe, moist cake, but the rising power wasn't impressive. I might add an extra 1/2 tsp. baking powder.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: CHRISTINALMN
I used a 9" square pan and added 10 minutes to the cook time and it turned out moist and tasty. Everyone loved it! I will definately do this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: RXRX
this is a wonderfully light cake with a rich taste...made for hospital staff and had to give the recipe to 7 employees...including the dietician !!!...excellent coffee cake....easy to make....no leftovers !!!!...Travis, Pharmacist
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes