My Reviews (55)

Sour Cream Walnut Coffee Cake

This is a simple to make coffee cake which features walnuts and sour cream for extra moistness and flavour.
Reviews (55)


24 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: Mom Karen
I LOVE this recipe and have made it several times in the past two weeks. I do have a few suggestions. First, I don't mix the filling ingredients. I sprinkle the walnuts, then most of the sugar, then most of the cinnamon. I DO measure the sugar--if I were doing it by eye I would never add enough! (I put only the remaining sugar and cinnamon on top). To smooth the first layer of cake on the bottom I make sure to wet my hands. For the second layer of cake I actually take hand-fuls of batter and flatten them in my wet hands before laying them out. It is quite easy to join these pieces together. Don't worry if you don't reach the edges of your baking dish--this cake expands tremendously while baking. I love it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: Kim
This was a super excellent recipe that was so moist! Everyone at work loved it! I changed some things to make it work for me: I added 1 tsp vanilla to the creamed mixture, and I increased the sour cream to 3/4 cup. I also added 1/2 tsp. cinnamon, 1/4 tsp. nutmeg and 1/4 tsp. ginger to the flour mixture. When everything was mixed together, I added about 1 cup of frozen blueberries. I spread this whole thing into a 9x13 greased pan. Instead of having a layer of filling, I omitted that step and made a streusel like topping for the top: Cut together 1/2 stick butter, 3/4 cup brown sugar and 2 tsp. cinnamon. Add 1/3 cup quick oats and 1 cup chopped pecans. Mix together well and sprinkle over the top of cake. This baked for exactly 40 minutes and came out beautiful! I thought it was pretty easy to make and I'm glad that I came across this recipe. This is especially delicious with a cup of fresh, hot coffee! Thanks for sharing your recipe
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: PATRICIA PEOPLES
I made this cake for a group of friends today and everyone loved it. It is moist and very easy to make. I am glad to add it to my favorite recipes. Patricia Peoples, Rowlett, TX
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: mclairethev
Very delicious. Like other reviewers, I added a full cup of sour cream as well as 1 teaspoon of vanilla to the batter. In addition, I used brown sugar and substitued pecans for walnuts for the filling. It was very moist and baked perfectly in 40 minutes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Oct 2012
Reviewed by: Lisa
What an easy cake to make and a wonderful sweet treat. This cake is moist and delicious. (I did add a full cup of sour cream per the other reviews. That was my only change. )
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: Debra S.
Very simple and very good! Batter does not pour but you have to spread it, and spreading it on top of the middle filling is tricky. I wet my hands and patted it out, that seemed to work better. Turned out pretty and delicious!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Apr 2001
Reviewed by: MAGGIEMAYCA
thank you i used to make this cake year's ago it was a family favorite but i lost the recipie and i've been searching for it for a long time.it taste's just as good as ever,my husband was surprised and delighted.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: Joanna Anderson
Wonderful. Made it for my boyfriend's family and they love me even more than before. I put some of the crunchy goodness on the bottom of the pan too.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: STARAJOY
This cake is good, I used a heavy bunt pan and needed to bake an extra 10 minutes. We only used 1 tsp of cinnamon, and didn't add the nuts. My 3 & 6 yr olds can't eat nuts. I am sure it would have been great with the nuts too. The flavor is good, and my family likes it. thanks.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: Sarah Ann
Much like many other folks I added one cup of sour cream and added a little bit of vanilla. The tip of wetting one's hands and then patting down the second layer of the batter was perfect, the batter is thick which I appreciate but I am not sure how else I would have gotten it to spread evenly without wetting my hands and patting it down. This recipe is super easy and tastes marvelous. The cake is super moist, my family loved it and it was gone before I knew it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes