My Reviews (305)

Sour Cream Chocolate Icing

This creamy chocolate icing is made a little bit tangy with the addition of sour cream. Great on chocolate cake.
Reviews (305)


20 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: Renee
This was a great recipe basis. However, I like chocolate frosting to be SUPER chocolatey and not very sugary at all. So I used much less sugar (to taste) and melted two oz. unsweetened chocolate with a handful of semisweet chips and a tab of butter. I then added this to the frosting, making it dreamily rich and intense. To bring out the chocolate flavor even more, I stirred some instant coffee with a bit of water (one could also mix it with the extract) and added to taste. The result: sinfully rich and uber chocolatey frosting that holds its shape and is perfect on Chocolate-Zucchini Cupcakes (also on this site). It couldn't get any better.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: MEEMEEBULUGA
Delicious and super easy to make. Like other reviewers I only needed about half the recommended amount of powdered suger to achieve the right consistancy. You should also know that the frosting is extremely sweet, so go easy with it. In addition, be sure to sift the sugar so you don't end up with lumpy frosting.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: Lavender Lady
Great frosting!! I made it on the spur of the moment and had to substitute cocoa powder for the chocolate chips by using 6 TBSP. of cocoa and 1/2 cup of butter and half the powdered sugar and it turned out great. Just enough to frost a 9x13 cake.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: dancer4theking
This is the best Chocolate Frosting I've ever had and very easy to make. The sour cream is a great addition and greatly improves the taste. I got rave reviews from my family. Goes great with One Bowl Chocolate Cake III! Will make again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Jena
Had a box (yeah I said box) of yellow cake mix that needed to be used up. I decided to make cupcakes and I wanted a quick, easy, not too sweet chocolate frosting for them. I did cut back on the powdered sugar a bit as a personal preference. While this didn't have a very deep chocolate flavor it was certainly quick and easy. I would make this one again. Thank you for the recipe Mary Beth.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: cookinme
This is a deliciously rich frosting. I made a Pirate Ship cake for my son't 4th Birthday party. I used this frosting on it. I did double the recipe and had just enough. Everyone enjoyed the frosting....some even asked for the recipe. I love the bit of tang the sourcream gives it. Thanks Mary Beth....this will be used over and over, I am sure!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: Countess
Nice creamy, chocolatey frosting. I used milk chocolate chips and only a cup of powdered sugar, and frosted a devil's food cake. I think I'll use dark chocolate next time for more flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: themightydon
Smooth and tasty! I added 1 tablespoon of cocoa and also 1/2 cup whipped cream cheese and reduced the sugar to two cups. An earlier review mentioned adding a bit of instant coffee which made this the best I've ever made. Thank you! I plan on playing with this recipe with different levels of cocoa and dark chocolate. I plan to spread a thin layer of my raspberry freezer jam to the center of my next cake.....OMG!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Dec 2001
Reviewed by: MOMANDTHEBOYS
This is a terrific recipe! It was a huge hit with my family and friends that tried it! Excellent flavor, texture and spreadability! It even smells great! I am making another cake (1 week later) for another birthday party and this frosting was specifically requested!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Jan 2005
Reviewed by: chakram8
This is easily the best chocolate frosting recipe I have ever tried. I put it in my Kitchen Aid mixer for a just a few minutes and it was light, creamy, rich and chocolate-y. This will turn any cake into a delight! My guests asked for seconds.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes