My Reviews (14)

Sour Cream Chocolate Walnut Cake

This is a favourite with my friends and family. If you like you can bake it in four mini-loaf tins. Reduce the cooking time by 15 minutes.
Reviews (14)


29 May 2003
Reviewed by: VINSHIPE
Very good recipe. Cake is moist and rich. One thing the recipe does not mention which novice bakers, like myself, may not realize is to grease the pan. Other than that, delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: DAGODAME
I followed the recipe exactly and the cake was a dissapointment. I will try again, but leave out the chocolate chips in the batter. I'll make more topping for the middle of the cake and the top.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: Erica
This was absolutely amazing. Last week my huge Sams Club sized Sour cream expired. I didn't want to throw it out so I looked up some recipes. I added an extra scoop of sour cream trying to reduce the amount I had left. I also added in a pinch of cinnamon and pumpkin pie because I read it was kinda bland. So the cake was very moist. The chocolate chips went to the bottom so I flipped the piece of cake so the melted chips were like frosting but on the inside. Will be making it many times!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 May 2009
Reviewed by: kb1
This cake was very moist and tasty. I prepared mine in the 8x8 inch pan and had to increase the cooking time as the middle of the cake was not completely cooked after 45 minutes. I also made extra topping which gave the cake a little extra crunch. Will make this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: CanadianCookingMamma
This was really good as cupcakes for my kids. I misread and though it would be a chocolate batter with chocolate chips so when I got all of my ingredients out I realized it wasn't. I didn't want to look for another recipe so I added 1/2 cup cocoa powder and about another 1/3 cup of sour cream. Mine turned out nice and light and chocolatley and not crumbly like alot of cakes. I did not do the topper on here either. Since it was cupcakes I made a cream cheese icing. Was sooooo yummy with the icing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 May 2002
Reviewed by: ERRICSON
My family thoroughly enjoyed this cake. Very moist and easy to put together. I made a double recipe and used my large loaf pans.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Sep 2012
Reviewed by: cliffr
Couple of substitutions/additions: 1. Used Chobani plain nonfat greek yogurt rather than sour cream. I use that substitution quite a bit to good effect. 2. Couldn't bare the thought of a vanilla looking cake so added a 1/4 cup of unsweetened cocoa powder. Voila! Chocolate cake. 3. Added some instant coffee. About 1/8 cup, for additional flavor. 4. Did not do the streusel mixture at all. Frosting, which I did not make, may be overkill.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Mar 2014
Reviewed by: Amy Kleinert
I haven't tasted this cake yet, but wanted to advise that this recipe should not be baked in a 8x8 pan. It's far too small and the middle of my cake is nearly raw and the edges super crisp after baking for 65 minutes. Next time I will try a 9x9.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Jan 2013
Reviewed by: LACEYNICE
I followed the recipe exactly and it was AMAZING! I made it in the 8x8 pan. So yummy and moist!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Mar 2017
Reviewed by: Liz
This was really light and moist and so easy to make. I used mini semi sweet chocolate chips and added 2 TBS additional chips to the streusel. Will absolutely make it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes