My Reviews (124)

Sour Cream Chicken Bake

You won"t find an easier way to make delicious chicken! Try serving it over white rice with a salad.
Reviews (124)


24 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: misscdn
Did most of the 'tweaking' as suggested by others. This recipe is kind of like a template for you to build off of. I added a couple cloves of crushed garlic, s&p, Parm cheese, a dash of dried green onions, and used cream of mushroom soup(it's what I had). Loved the end result.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: BCSHELLY
For a quick, easy meal this is excellent. I didn't think it would be as good as it was with the small list of ingredients! I added garlic and season salt and parmesean cheese on top. A winner with my family, thanks.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: Colette
I had 1/2 container left-over store-bought spinach dip, was looking for a recipe to use it up, and found a winner with this one! I followed some of others' suggestions: Mixed 1/2 tsp. minced garlic with Healthy Reqst. cream of mushroom soup (instead of cream of chix) and put them in a blender with the white wine. Then I lightly sprinkled seasoned salt, poultry seasoning, and pepper on chix breasts (only used seasoned salt on one side vs. both sides) and tenderized the chix breasts with a Jaccard tenderizer (has 10 little knives in it). I poured a little of the soup mixture in the bottom of the casserole dish and sprinkled 1/4 cup diced onions on the soup. Then I placed the chix breasts in the dish, poured the remaining soup mixture on top, and sprinkled 1/4 cup diced onions on top. Baked it for 1/2 hr., took it out of the oven, spooned the spinach dip on top, and baked it for another 1/2 hr. It looked beautiful and tasted wonderful -- it's definitely a "company" dish! It IS a little soupy, but worked well with the linguine I served. A definite keeper!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 May 2002
Reviewed by: MMURKA
I hate to bash the ideas of others, but I made this last night, and I found it to be really gross. I followed the recipe exactly, and it basically tasted like cream of chicken soup gone wrong. I couldn't finish eating it. I would not recommend this recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Jun 2008
Reviewed by: iashton
We all enjoyed this very well! I didn't have wine on hand, so I used New Castle beer and it was wonderful! I also took some suggestions i read and added 1/2 bag frozen spinach(thawed and drained), 3 tblsp Parm. cheese, 1 clove garlic, 2 tsp oregano and a little pepper. Couldn't have been better! Thanks so much for a great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Sep 2007
Reviewed by: suzy
easy to make. substituted cream of mushroom for the cream of chicken. added pepper, garlic, basil and oregano. Cooked the recipe in the electric pressure cooker with 5 chicken breasts. I easily could have used 6 breasts. There was lots of sauce left over. I thickened it with a little with flour after removing the chicken. served it with rice, but would have went much better with pasta.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 May 2006
Reviewed by: lamski
Perfect. So simple and with a few spices as suggested by other reviewers - Papirka, garlic powder & parmesan cheese. It was a hit.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: Beka
so simple and tastes great. I used cream of chicken w/herbs. I think maybe the sauce could be thinned a little (more wine?..lol)I also thought adding artichokes may taste good. Haven't tried that yet. Definitely will make again
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: petramonique
This was a great starter recipe but i added oregano, oregano, chives, black olives and corn. It turned out great1 I served it with penne pasta with grape tomatoes on the side. I also used low fat, low sodium cream of mushroom soup.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: shona
Really enjoyed this meal. I changed the recipe a lot after reading other reviews. I chopped 2 large chicken breasts into large bite size pieces. I sauteed mushrooms and a small red onion in a little olive oil with 1 clove of crushed garlic then added the chicken and about 3 rashers of chopped smokey bacon. Once lightly cooked i placed these ingredients to one side in an oven dish i then deglazed the pan with white wine, reduced the wine then mixed together a can of batchelor's low fat condensed mushroom soup and about 2 large spoons of sour cream to a smooth consistency then whisked it into the wine brought it to high heat then pored the sauce over the chicken, mushroom, onion and bacon added lots of fresh ground pepper and baked it in the oven for about 30 to 40 minutes then served it over pasta. The sauce was lovely thick and creamy and the smokey bacon added a wonderful flavour.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes