My Reviews (57)

Beef Pasta Soup

It doesn't get easier than this delicious beef pasta soup! Onion soup mix adds a real depth of flavour.
Reviews (57)


15 Jan 2004
Reviewed by: NJSS2000
Excellent. I did make a few minor changes though. I used shell noodles instead of macaroni and cooked it seperately and then added it to the hamburger/tomato mixture, so I left out the 2 cups of water. I used a package of beefy onion soup mix since that is what I had on hand. I also cut back on the oregano, since my canned tomatoes were already seasoned with basil, garlic and oregano. Hubby loved it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: Sarah Jo
This is something that I make when I've really got to stretch out what I've got in the cupboards/fridge. To really make it work for you, add in whatever vegetables you have on hand and a can of tomato sauce or two. I like to add carrots, zucchini, spinach, red pepper. garlic. Spices, I'll usually add basil, fennel, thyme. If you've got a little bacon grease in your fridge, saute your vegetables in that before you add the rest of your ingredients. TIP: I usually add a little molasses in my speghetti sauce for a deeper flavor and a little sweetness.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Oct 2003
Reviewed by: TARLEY2
My husband said it was better than the one his mom used to make - I added a little spaghetti sauce to thicken it up and it turned out great!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 May 2011
Reviewed by: ohsherry
I stuck to the original recipe and was surprised both and how simple it was and at how much my family liked it. With so many people adding to or changingt he recipe and commenting, I just wanted to say that it is good on its own. Simple and good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: RCKim
While this was hearty, simple, and quick, it was just an average meal. Not to say my family didn't like it---we all did! It just isn't a dish I'd purposely plan into my weekly menu. On the other hand, it was perfect for my needs tonight: a dinner I could throw together using simple items I already had on hand. For that reason alone, I'd make it again if I found myself in a pinch. By the way, I did throw in a large handful of fresh spinach just before adding the cheese. It did make the dish more colorful while sneaking in some veggies!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: annekj
This is a great weeknight recipe. It is quick and easy. I used garlic mushroom soup mix, because I didn't have any onion soup mix. Next time, I will use the onion soup. I added some dry minced onions. I, also, used chopped canned tomatoes to save a step. The leftovers were great for lunch, too. Thanks for the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: Currie
Very good and easy! I did make some changes only because I wanted to use what I had on hand. First I used 2 lb's of ground beef and no onion soup mix. I sauteed one samll onion and one small green pepper with 3 cloves of minced garlic, then I added the ground beef to cook. I used 2 fresh tomatoes (peeled and diced)and dired parsley, dried oregano leaves and lawry's seasoning salt. I added the water and pasta. When the pasta was done I add the parmesan cheese and about 2-3 handfuls of shredded colby jack cheese. Sorry for all the changes but it was very good!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: MrsBernard
I just love this! It's like a healthier, home-made version of hamburger helper. After I started it, I realized I had no canned tomatoes, so I sliced up a large fresh one and threw in an extra cup of water. I thought this might make it taste "plain" but it still had loads of flavour! I also used the cheese I had on hand, which happened to be Havarti and Cheddar. This will definitely be a regular in my household!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: arnandlor
Awesome! I used One can diced tomatoes and chilis 10 oz and 14 oz crushed tomatoes, added 3 extra ounces of water and used 2 cups rotini - everything else the same and it turned out amazing! This is my new staple for weeknights with room for variation each week.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 May 2009
Reviewed by: mvaeth
taste is pretty ordinary not bad, but not great. Super quick and easy to make
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes