My Reviews (26)

Cinnamon Crumb Cake

This is a recipe for a quick and easy crumb cake with a cinnamon sugar topping. It doesn't even need icing.
Reviews (26)


14 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: Andy
Very good! Family LOVED it! Only made a few changes. Replaced half the flour with wheat flour, added 2 tbs of cinnamon to the batter and used low fat butter and skim milk instead of shortening and whole milk. Doubled the ingredients to make a double batch, but still used same size square glass pan, but baked it an extra 10 minutes. Made the perimeter a little crunchy and the center chewy. (My wife and I like chewy snickerdoodles, the kids like crunchy ones, so everyone was happy). Will be making this again (just not very often, not exactly on our healthy lifestyle list, but I LOVE snickerdoodles and this cake!)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Nov 2009
Reviewed by: KENGIEB
My husband took this to work and got good feedback for it. It's not a replacement for my Grannie's Snickerdoodle cookies but it'll do in a pinch!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Oct 2001
Reviewed by: SCOUT100
Quick and easy-and good with vanilla ice cream on top!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Mar 2019
Reviewed by: Krystal Butler
I made it but substituted plain Greek yogurt for the shortening and followed the rest of Chelsea Rose’s modifications above
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Feb 2019
Reviewed by: Katie
I subbed 1/2 the sugar with brown and doubled the crumb mixture. We have dairy allergies so I used coconut creamer for the milk and coconut oil based margarine for the crumble. I’m still trying to figure out how to make a good crumble without real butter so it melted a little but overall tasted great. The cake is very mild tasting and highlights the crumble. It would be a great base for adding other things on top or in the middle like apples. I really like this recipe and will try it again. I may try “sour” milk or adding apples but I also like it just as written.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Oct 2016
Reviewed by: conniemm
I made this with four young people. All four batches took much more than 20-25 minutes. Disappointing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Feb 2014
Reviewed by: Sandra
I just made this, n the batter turned out like a cookie dough. Can someone please tell me what is wrong, as I went by the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Dec 2013
Reviewed by: ramseywa
The cake came out dry .
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Jun 2013
Reviewed by: AvgCollegeGirl
The best part about this cake is that it tastes like you put way more time, effort, and ingredients into it than you actually do! All of the ingredients are always kept on hand, and it is very easy to make. The cake turned out absolutely delicious! I, like the other users, put some cinnamon into the batter. I also poured half the batter in the pan, then sprinkled more cinnamon and sugar over that before putting in the rest. I also doubled the topping using half white and half brown sugar. Next time I'd put half of the topping in the middle. Highly recommended!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Nov 2012
Reviewed by: msdaisysunshine
I would have rated this a 5, but I read reviews beforehand and mixed 1/4 cup of sugar with cinnamon and added it to flour mixture before adding the egg mixture. I doubled the crumb topping. I think next time I might try to make this with an extra egg to make it even moister. It is definitely a 5 with tweaks!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes