My Reviews (26)

Baked Red Snapper with Olives

This is a Mexican fish dish usually called snapper Veracruz after its town of origin. Very simple, tangy and delicious!
Reviews (26)


07 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: Kathy
Excellent recipe. I used RoTel canned tomatoes with cilantro, lime and chilis. Also added some white wine, simmered to reduce liquid, poured over the fish and baked. Topped with Mexican cheese at the end of baking time. Delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Cindy Kirch
I live in Mexico, so I consider myself semi-knowledgeable when it comes to Mexican tastes. The recipe did not taste very authentic....I've been to Veracruz many times...and the ingredients were there, but the taste was lacking. Also, the cinnamon was wrong! Too much and wrong flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Mar 2002
Reviewed by: LINDA MCLEAN
Was not impressed with this recipe. I'm not big on a lot of ingredients smothering my fish, however, I thought my family would enjoy it. They didn't care for it either.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: SWEETJAM
I will start this by saying that I love snapper veracruz and order it often out. Unfortunately I thought the flavor of this was average. It wasn't bad, but I didn't rave either. I personally thought the teaspoon of cinnamon was over powering and the most prodominent thing I tasted in the sauce. If I made this again I would cut way back on the cinnamon. I may make this again with some changes as it was easy to make. Thanks Helena.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Jan 2002
Reviewed by: JRYAN12
This is an easy, light and interesting dish - my husband loves it, and even my one-year old enjoyed a little taste. The sauce is incredible, I could almost eat that by itself!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Jan 2002
Reviewed by: ROSALIND PARAGUS
Very colorful and delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: AcaCandy
I also topped it with cheese. Pepper Jack.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: Wanda
I was extremely hesitant about putting in the cinnamon, but I did it anyway. BAD IDEA! I'll make it again without the cinnamon and re-review. Please, please, please don't ruin your fish with this recipe. No cinnamon! Look at other Veracruz recipes first. This one is a good basic recipe minus the cinnamon. No cinnamon! Okay, I think I've gotten my point across. If you use the cinnamon you can't say you weren't warned!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: scooters_mom
Made it with what's on-hand: frozen cod pan fried instead of snapper baked. Oregano instead of cinnamon, based on other reviewers' comments. Added some pickled jalapenos for extra spice. Nice easy dish with rice or roasted potatoes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: FieldGreens
I actually visited Veracruz a couple of years ago and can confidently say that this tastes like something from that region. It is very good. The olives and capers give it wonderful zing. I reduced the cinnamon to just over half a teaspoon, used diced canned tomatoes, lemon, and yellow bell pepper. Served with a big scoop of white rice and my family ate it up.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes