My Reviews (99)

Easy Beef and Macaroni

A very quick and easy (and kid-friendly) combination of beef mince, macaroni and tinned tomatoes. Delicious!
Reviews (99)


22 Jan 2004
Reviewed by: RUNNINGCOOK
I enjoy a far simpler variant of this recipe. Cook ground beef and add diced onions and green peppers at the end so they remain al dente. Simmer with canned tomatoes. Add elbow macaroni. This was the Slumgullion that I grew up with.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: moose
Cooked this very slowly when all the ingredients were combined. I added 1 1/2 cup of mozzarella cheese nd 1 teaspoon of basil.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: JOYCE_NIELSEN
This dish proved to be a quick and easy way to get dinner on the table tonight! My family all gave it a thumbs up. Of course, I changed it a little to reflect what I had on hand. :+) I used Rotini noodles, which picked up the flavor of the sauce well. I browned the ground beef, onion, garlic salt, and pepper together. Then, I added a can of tomato sauce, a can of diced tomatoes, and a can of mushroom soup. (I don't like mushrooms themselves, but like the added flavor the soup gave this dish.) My husband used Parmesan cheese on his plate, but the kids liked it just the way it was. Thanks for a great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 May 2010
Reviewed by: GWENMBELL
I grew up eating this with a slight modification - my grandmother always added the stewed tomatoes and seasonings (salt, pepper, garlic powder and a little chili powder) plus 2 cups of water at the same time she added the tomato sauce, simmered it for about 15 minutes and then added the dried pasta directly to the meat and tomato sauce. Mamow's method not only seasoned the pasta but thickened the sauce at the same time. We never had mushrooms in our Slumgullion.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 May 2010
Reviewed by: Paul in Holmes NY
My mother used to make slumgullion when we were kids, and I still make it long after she is gone. I thought she made up the name. I am surprised this is so similar. I use spiral macaroni and add green bell pepper (great flavor) to the pan when browning. I empty everything into a large pyrex bowl and bake at 350 for a half hour or 45 min, depending on how much. Great dish, everyone loves it and its so easy. Don't forget to top with romano or parmegan cheese. It brings me right back to my youth every time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 May 2010
Reviewed by: My4boys
All the kids loved it. I did add a bit of garlic powder when cooking the meat and I used parm cheese on top for some extra flavor. It turned out great. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: carla
My grandmother taught me to make this when I was a little girl...this is truly comfort food.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 May 2010
Reviewed by: Capt.Quent
The recipe and the result were fine. I made this mainly because of the name, which I hadn't heard since childhood ! My dad was a soldier in WWI. He survived from the trenches in France, and came home in 1919 on a troopship.The cooks had to feed several hundred young men every day on a long voyage, and they did it with a mixture of ingredients called slumgullion. Occasionally, years later, Dad would recall eating "slum" every day on the ship. He wouldn't eat anything like that any more. I had not heard the name in about 70 years !!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: love2cook/momof6
This recipe was simple and fast. The taste was good, not fantastic. My husband and 4 of the kids ate it with parm cheese on top. My 2 picky eaters would not touch it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: Reg927
This was WONDERFUL! Everyone that tried it loved it, and i even took some to work and let my coworkers try it. It was a hit and very easy to make!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes