My Reviews (46)

Slow Cooker Capsicum Meatballs

Meatballs are easy to make in the slow cooker and the flavours blend perfectly. Serve over pasta or with some nice crusty bread.
Reviews (46)


07 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: amandagorby
These were very good- sauce kept the meatballs moist with a nice flavor. I did add an extra egg to the meat mixture for two reasons: I was using medium-sized eggs and my porcupines always fall apart. I'm happy to say that with careful turning they were perfect! The only thing I did different with the method, I put some of the sauce in the slow cooker, then added the porcupines, then the rest of the sauce. This was so I wouldn't have to turn or stir them so much.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: DeeLee
Wow,the original recipe back in the 1960's was just the meat mixed with rice and cooked in canned tomato soup. Not much taste but easy and a cheap way to feed my growing family.What an improvement this recipe is . I hadn't made these in years but plan to use this recipe often.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Mar 2009
Terrific recipe! I was trying to duplicate a lost family recipe, and this came very close. It actually had more flavor than ours, and was more convenient in the slow cooker! I didn't add the frozen pepper/onions, is the only thing I changed. Will make this again for a nice homestyle family meal. I like to serve with french-cut green beans and rice. Very yummy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: SKYEYES
My husband and his coworkers have had the winter doldrums lately, so because it was Groundhog Day, I decided to send a double batch of porcupines. This recipe caught my eye because it is specifically for slow cooker, which is what is great for work. I confess I only used the sauce from this recipe but am so glad I did! It was a HUGE hit, and the coworkers have informed me that they expect "groundhogs" with this sauce again next year on February 2.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: Mary Ann
This recipe brought back wonderful chilhood memories. Mom always made these but used mushroom soup as the sauce. She used the oven but I will make them in the crockpot. Thanks for the memories!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: Zillahknits
The meatballs themselves were somewhat bland and I would spice more next time. THe sauce and cooking method was spot on and overall a win.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: JENN
good! meatballs fell apart a bit...sauce was really good. i used fresh peppers and onion, and would do it that way every time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Sep 2012
Reviewed by: Cynthia Webb
For real efficiency, I make about 5 batches at once on a weekend day. Once they are browned, freeze them in a zipper-freezer bag. In the morning, dump the whole frozen blob into your slow cooker, poor over the sauce and go to work. I switch up the veggies and leave the bay leaf out, add garlic. Doesn't really matter. Do it like Mom did except by freezing ahead you've got dinner on those busy week nights.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: Linda Breault
This is a great gluten free meatball
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: KITTY_R
Sorry, but we found these meatballs to be quite bland and boring. If we get the urge to have ground beef with rice again, I will stick to stuffed cabbage rolls. Much tastier!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes