My Reviews (408)

Simple Spinach Lasagne

A delicious vegetarian lasagne based on spinach, but you can use the same recipe with mince if you prefer.
Reviews (408)


20 Oct 2003
Reviewed by: TANYA93
I made this for my picky parents and they really enjoyed it. I made a few alterations: I used ricotta instead of cottage cheese and like some others suggested I used one 10 oz. package of spinach and one 10 oz. of broccoli. I also added a can of mushrooms and some shredded carrot and shredded zucchini. Instead of jarred sauce I made homemade with an easy recipe from this website called "Best Marina Sauce Yet." My only complaint is that one 8 oz package of lasagna noodles was not enough if you layer in fours as the recipe called for. I was two noodles short.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: Olivers Grammy
This recipe sounded really great, however after reading some of the other reviews I did make some changes...I read a couple reviews that said there was too much sauce, noodles were crispy, had to use a whole box of noodles...So I precooked the noodles (a whole box) and eliminated the water that the recipe called for. I just browned the onions and garlic then mixed in the spinach, spices and a 26 oz. bottle spaghetti sauce. I had a second bottle of sauce on hand. I also added a second egg to the recipe and changed the cottage cheese to ricotta cheese. I put some sauce straight from the bottle in the bottom of the pan then layered noodles, spinach mix, noodles, egg mix, noodles, bottled sauce and added chopped frozen broccoli to this layer. A full box noodles will be enough for a 9"x13" pan with two layers of each filling. Top with more sauce and cheese. Bake 30-45 minutes or until hot in center.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 May 2003
Reviewed by: PICASSO_BLUE_DOG
This is the best Lasagna ever!!!!!!!! My husband and I are vegitarians and we love it. We make it about once a week. I use Ricotta cheese and tofu instead of cottage cheese. The tofu has the same texture as the ricotta without the fat. I do about 1 cup each (ricotta and tofu). Just Ricotta also taste great. Also sometimes we add mushrooms to the sauce and it gives some meatiness to the meal. Also sometimes I use fresh spinach and it taste great.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: BISHWMN
This was a hit with my husband AND three-year-old daughter. The only suggestion I would make is to set aside a little bit of plain red sauce (without spinach, et al) for the final layer. The spinach darkens during baking, and I think this non-spinach sauce would make the dish more appealing to the eye. Also, I sprinkled the top with some mozzarella cheese after I removed the foil for the final minutes of baking. Yummy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Oct 2003
Reviewed by: LKHAMFF
This was delicious! The only thing I changed was substituting ricotta cheese for the cottage cheese like others suggested. Make sure to reserve enough sauce for the very top so that the noodles are covered well, otherwise they might not be as soft.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Mar 2002
Reviewed by: AmeriCanadian
A really nice change for a tasty lasagna - might use only one pkg of spinach next time and substitute other vegetables instead - it had a fairly strong spinach taste.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Oct 2003
Reviewed by: Erika
Awesome! I have been looking for a spinach lasagna recipe and I have certainly found it. I shredded carrot into the cheese mixture, used oven ready lasagna, skipped the water in the sauce and spinach mixture, and coated the bottom of the lasagna pan with an 8 oz can of tomato sauce. This will be a great recipe to share with company.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Jul 2003
Reviewed by: YUMYUM123
This is a fabulous lasagna. I followed the recipe exactly and it was just perfect. I wasn't sure if I was supposed to but I squeezed the liquid out of the spinach before sauteeing. I plan to make this recipe quite often!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: APRILMILLER
The best lasagna I've ever made. I love that you don't have to cook the noodles separately! I only used one package of spinach, and I used Bertolli's "Marinara with Burgundy" sauce (which is only 26 oz, but I made up the difference by adding some tomato paste & water). We didn't miss having meat in this. Definitely a keeper!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Feb 2001
Reviewed by: TWINS1127
This was easy-I made it put it together ahead of time and threw it in the oven for dinner. My toddlers ate it up. Very good!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes