My Reviews (37)

Simple Chocolate Glaze

This is a great all-purpose chocolate glaze or thin icing perfect for cakes, cupcakes and muffins. Very simple.
Reviews (37)


21 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Sumchelle
This is glorious! Buttery, chocolatey goodness. Perfect for dipping cupcakes!! (Amount stated was a bit more than I needed to glaze 24 full size cupcakes) Instead of bittersweet chocolate, I used up the rest of my semi-sweet chocolate chips. And, I just microwave'd butter and chocolate - as opposed to using the double boiler.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 May 2009
Reviewed by: naples34102
Bittersweet chocolate is not generally my preferenence for either eating or baking, but since hubs prefers dark chocolate I prepared this glaze as the recipe directs, using high quality Scharffen Berger bittersweet chocolate, and whoa, this made for an intensely chocolate glaze! It is soft, yet still looks glossy and shiny even after it sets. I used this to glaze the rather plain tasting "Neapolitan Cake," also from this site, and they were perfect for each other. This would be the type of glaze I'd expect to see on European tortes or petit fours -it has that kind of smooth, professional look. I used the microwave to make this but let it go a little too long, so it wasn't as perfectly smooth as it should have been -be extra careful and attentive when melting chocolate, especially when you're using the expensive, good stuff! Once melted, it was a little too thin to pour, so I just stuck it in the fridge, stirring every now and then, till it became the right consistency. Serious chocolate fans will love this glaze!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: Beth Zelle
I made this yesterday and it worked beautifully on a pound cake. Great taste and easy to make and use. I did it all in the microwave.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 May 2010
Reviewed by: Sarah Jo
Perfect. Just what I needed for my son's birthday cake. NOTE: I used 8 oz. semi-sweet chocolate chips, semi-sweet, and it worked perfectly. You don't have to have a fancy double-boiler. I just did what Grandma taught me and fit a bowl over a small saucepan. Wa-la, instant double boiler.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: HEBH
Wow, yummy, shiny, and easy. I cut the recipe in half for 24 cupcakes. I used half semi-sweet chocolate chips and 2 1oz. bars of unsweetened chocolate since that is what I had on hand. Even though I halfed the recipe since I used some unsweetened chocolate I used a whole tablespoon of honey and I melted the whole thing in a pyrex dish in the microwave. I heated it for 20 seconds and then stirred and repeated until it was smooth (about 70 seconds total). I will definitely use this again and again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: aea
This was amazingly easy to make! I substituted the corn syrup with honey, and it worked great! Will definitely keep this recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: belladonna
use a microwave!! put all ingredients in a glass measuring cup and microwave for 15 seconds, stir, then another 15 seconds, and stir, until smooth. It was a little thick for my preference so I added a few TBS of hot strong coffee to thin it out (have used rum too!) and it was perfect. will use this 283928908 more times!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: JENELLEBELLE
Delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: Carolina
This was so bitter, I would not use it again. It ruined the cake I made. No one commented on the cake at all and no one definitely asked for a second piece. When I tasted it I knew why. This was way too bitter, ended up scrapping it all off. I saved the cake by making a torte with the crumbs. This was embarassing as I took it to an event without trying it first. It was the worst item at the party.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: sewnsewmom
Oh! this was so easy and very good. I used 1/2 milk chocolate and 1/2 dark chocolate chips. It was a little bit thick, but spread onto brownies very easily and oh so smooth. Very decadent! Yum!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes