My Reviews (106)

Angel Hair Pasta with Shiitake Cream Sauce

Shiitake mushrooms have a very distinctive taste and are best prepared in a simple sauce that allows their flavour to shine.
Reviews (106)


15 Apr 2005
Reviewed by: Peachy
WOW. really, really amazing flavor. I wanted to make a filling meal, so I roughly sliced/chopped up two boneless skinless chicken breasts and marinaded them in 3 Tb tomato sauce, 3 Tb soy sauce, 1 Tb peanut oil, a dash of cumin and a crushed clove of garlic (a big one). I let that set for an hour before I started with the mushroom sauce. After the aroma on the mushrooms began to develop and I tossed in the wine/broth, I also threw in the chicken (minus most of the marinade). Keep at medium heat as broth reduces and the chicken will cook through. Add the cream (I used 1/4c.milk, 1/4c. cream), and reduce to low-med as it reduces. It should finish around the same time as the pasta. You want to be careful not to over-cook the mushroom/chicken, because if it reduces too much you won't have enough sauce for the pasta. The recipe is brilliant. You don't need the cheese or parsely, really. I added some, but I thought it was flavorful and complex enough without it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 May 2001
Reviewed by: amc1968
This was an excellent pasta recipe. I used all chicken broth instead of wine, and it turned out great. Plus, I added some sliced chicken on top and thickened it to taste with some cornstarch/water. Wonderful recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: max
3.5--Has potential and turns out well with some alterations (a 4.5), but as it is written, this recipe is only a 3. Tips: -You need a lot of salt and pepper to taste. -As the other reviews say, double up on the liquid, but follow what the recipe says about the solids. -The brand of chicken stock really affects the flavor. If you don't have good stock, just use all white wine. I actually thought it tasted better to forego the stock. -Leave out the stalks and just use mushroom heads; the former is too chewy. -The dish might do well with some spinach (for color) and chicken (for protein). Make it, and improve on it! It's got great potential as a base recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: naples34102
No tips from me. No criticisms. No deviations or additions. The only helpful hint I could suggest would be to prepare this recipe exactly as Ann, the submitter, wrote it. I used an exotic mushroom mix which included shiitakes, but otherwise stuck to the recipe, just eyeballing the ingredients. Nice blend of flavors; an attractive and delicious pasta I served as a side dish. This was sheer comfort food for me!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Oct 2005
Reviewed by: born2drv
This was a fantastic recipe! It was very simple, most of the ingredients are very affordable, and it was very tasty and healthy. I like garlic, so I used 4 cloves instead of 1. Everything else I followed exactly, and it came out fabulous! Next time I plan to improve it by basically by increasing the ratio of the ingredients compared to the amount of pasta because I think it could use less pasta and more mushrooms, sauce, etc... and of course more garlic!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Jun 2005
Reviewed by: DINKYPIE
This is amazing and really easy. I used evaporated milk instead of cream for a light summer meal.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: Nicole Burdett
AWESOME! I doubled the sauce and made about 10 oz of linguini and thought it was a perfect ratio. After adding the wine and broth, it took about 10 mins to reduce... and then after adding the cream it took about 10-12 mins to thicken. Served with grilled chicken and asparagus (simply brushed with olive oil and kosher salt and broiled for 4 minutes... so good). With a sprinking of fresh parmesan and parsley, it looked amazing and I was thrilled that it tasted as good as it looked! Thank you, Ann!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Apr 2005
Reviewed by: MOLLY111
i love mushrooms so i had high hopes for this recipe. i didn't have any wine on hand, so i used cooking sherry and it turned out great! used veggie stock (to make it completely vegetarian), added 3 cloves of garlic and some salt. yum!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Mar 2005
Reviewed by: LynnInHK
The shiitake gives the sauce such nice flavors. I used whole milk to cut down some fat and the sauce was still creamy enough but not too heavy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jun 2002
Reviewed by: SWEETJAM924
This is an elegant and tasty dish that appears as if u have slaved in the kitchen for hours on end! the sauce is yumm becasue it tastes of alfredo but without the heavyness.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes