My Reviews (33)

Turkey Mince Shepherd's Pie

This is a turkey variant on the traditional shepherd's pie. Loaded with a few extra vegetables, this goes well with a side of bread.
Reviews (33)


27 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: Rosie
Good basic recipe, however I have added cheese on top of the potatoes and then put it into the oven. I have also put an egg wash on top of the potatoes and baked in the oven - this way there is no need to place under the broiler.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: SweetBasil
I've been making our shepherd's pie like this since I found Ellie Kreiger's recipe last year. I add more onion and some chopped celery & bell pepper, and sometimes even some sliced mushrooms, to the turkey saute, along with garlic powder, poultry seasoning and some cajun seasoning as ground turkey can be very bland. I too add a little grated cheese to the top. This makes for a delcious and healthy version, plus you can sneak all kinds of veggies into the meal!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: ebrown
Other reviewers suggestions made this recipe extra good. Added the mushrooms, celery, extra onion, and minced garlic. Put shredded cheese over the top and cooked for the last 10 minutes. Will absolutely make again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: Cora
My boyfriend and I made this for dinner tonight and boy was I pleasantly surprised! We did add garlic powder, onion powder, celery salt, paprika, and a few dashes of tapatio to the meat mixture. Added some cheese to the top before broiling. And we used a 9x9 dish instead of a 9x12. Other than that, we followed the recipe to a tee. I can't believe the mashed potato/cauliflower was so delicious without using milk or butter! We definitely recommend this recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: HILDE NA BEAG
This recipe is good. However there is one correction I'd like to make about the description of it on the "daily email". Colcannon with cauliflower tastes good, but it is NOT an "Irish flavor reminiscent of colcannon". Colcannon is mashed potatoes with kale (the Irish call it curly kale).
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: Nita
I really liked this recipe- I've made the same Sheperd's pie recipe for the last several years and wanted something more fresh.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: Cookingwithpanda
i really enjoyed this variation. So much healthier with the turkey. I actually used beef broth in with the potatoes because i already had it open. I think it gave it a darker taste, which i actually preferred. I also took the reviewers suggestions and used a pkg of frozen mixed veggies and also put the cheese and egg wash on top of the potatoes. (i would have used cauliflower mixed with the potatoes if i had cauliflower on hand, which i didnt. it definitely is an awesome mix together when done though. Would definitely make this style shepherd's pie again. Thanks for sharing!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: choleexo
followed exact recipe. not bad
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: food guru
bland. good with ketchup.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Dec 2011
Reviewed by: Vanessahamm1
Was pretty good, I added Lipton beefy onion soup mix. It gave it a more savory flavor, and still used the ground turkey! Enjoy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes