My Reviews (45)

Seven Ingredient Pasta Sauce

A very easy pasta sauce which you can also make in the slow cooker. You can add meatballs if you don't want it vegetarian.
Reviews (45)


05 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: Amy B
Great, simple and easy. I make this in a crockpot and use 3 finely grated carrots instead of the sugar. Turns out great and freezes great.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Oct 2000
Reviewed by: BIGRED7197
Yes I just would like to you should definitely use almost a tsp. of sugar to help w/ the acidity of the tomatoes, and to make sure if you are using meatballs and spareribs to cook them for the full three hours in the sauce!!! Enjoy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Feb 2005
Reviewed by: Lani G
Great! Easy and just like my nana's. I froze the rest and later used it in cacciatore with peppers and onions and chili so far.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Feb 2013
Reviewed by: mwitiuk
Instead of garlic I use onions. I think the garlic contrbutes to the bitterness which is why sugar is needed. I have never had to use sugar. Make sure you stir the paste constantly so it cooks. I also add I can of water which also cut down on the acidity but still keeps the sauce thick. This is my Italy born mother's recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Mar 2003
Reviewed by: SCADMEL
The recipe reminds me of my italian friends regular sauce. I added a little of oregano, because the sauce was a little sweet. I also added some italian link sausages. YUMMY!!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: Dorota
This is my favorite tomato sauce and it's great as is! Works wonderfully in lasagna and is delicious on its own.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Nov 2011
Reviewed by: lana_alcorn
Pretty good basic tomato sauce. I didn't have tomato puree, so I omitted it. I also omitted the salt. As for the minced garlic, pepper, dried basil, and sugar, I eyeballed it. I also added 1/2 sauteed chopped onion and a good amount of dried spices from my Italian jar. Oh, and I cooked it nowhere near 3 hours; more like 20-30 minutes until I got impatient.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Jan 2015
Reviewed by: WildBill
It is a pretty good recipe.not needed and take it out. So is it "7 ingredient" or "9 ingredient" tomato sauce?
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Sep 2012
Reviewed by: busymomof3
Love this sauce! I saute diced onion with the garlic as well. I also add some oregano and bay leaves. So yummy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Jan 2015
Reviewed by: jennifferbgrant
Super easy and tasty recipe! It makes a great base sauce that you can alter by adding meat, veggies, cheese, spices or spice! Freezes great! In reference to WildBill's comment "...a pretty good recipe, though in the title it says "7" ingredient tomato sauce, but for some reason I count 9 ingredients. They need to rename the recipe or find out which 2 ingredients are not needed and take it out. So is it "7 ingredient" or "9 ingredient" tomato sauce?" Technically this is a 7 ingredient sauce. The second ingredient, tomato, happens to be in three different forms (paste, puree, and crushed). So the title is technically accurate.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes