My Reviews (48)

Self-Icing Oat Biscuits

These are tasty and addictive oat biscuits which make their own icing as they bake. The dough needs to chill for two hours.
Reviews (48)


21 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: initforthekids
I just started baking. I'm seventeen and I'm just trying to find recipes that will be good for my family when I get responsible enough to have one..=D..so I cooked my mom dinner saturday night and made these as dessert and they are FABULOUS right out of the oven when they are still a little warm yet. I went light on the oats because I added raisins to half of the batch-MISTAKE. The ones ROLLED IN the powdered sugar didn't even taste like oatmeal cookies when cooled, but the ones i didn't roll in the confectioners' sugar tasted like oatmeal. MY ADVICE: add all the oats, add raisins if you want, don't use the confectioners' sugar. these are amazing and the best oatmeal cookies my mom said she'd ever had, and oatmeal are her favorite. <3 These made me thirty (30) cookies, I don't ever think the serving amount is correct. I pulled them out a bit earlier and still days later they are super moist. Delish. Will definately make again--THANKS.!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 May 2004
Reviewed by: LimeGreenKitchen
I hate to give a negative review but I thought I had a very sweet tooth. I love sugar, but these were like taking a teaspoonful of sugar and putting it in your mouth. Definietly not disgusting cookies, goodness knows my kids LOVED them, but it's the first time anything has been to sugary for me.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Feb 2004
Reviewed by: Amy
These are the best oatmeal cookies I have ever made or tasted. I chilled the dough for 3 hours, and I rolled it lightly in 10x sugar-the self made glaze is terrific. They are chewy, not cake like. I highly recommend this recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: pomplemousse
Not convinced these cookies make their own frosting. The only thing on top of the cookies is some remnants of the powdered sugar. That aside, though, these are pretty good cookies. I didn't think they were too sweet, and I like the fact that you can use oil bc if I ever run out of shortening or margarine, these will be my go to oatmeal cookies. I don't think they are too greasy. Thanks for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: ANGELFROMHEAVEN
Wonderful cookies. Be careful to not overbake. I learned from my first batch that they should only be baked for about 8 minutes, just until they are set. Watch closely.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Jun 2001
Reviewed by: COOKPOT
This is a great recipe.... the cookies covered with the confectioners sugar take on a delicate texture. My kids really liked them..... and they are picky about oatmeal cookies.... I added golden raisins, coconut and white choc chips.... yum!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
These did "frost" themselves. They were okay. Came out dry and crunchy. They did not spread while baking. Good flavor, but not a chewy tender cookie. Probably won't make these again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: QueenCook
These cookies were ok, but not the greatest. Rather plain. A good cookie when you're out of butter
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: CHICKEYMOMMA
Um... They were cookies. I tried these cookies because I am out of butter and my margarine wasn't softened. I can hold my own when it comes to sugar, and I felt these were too sweet. Also, I concur with the 'greasy' feeling. The oil, while interesting, made, well, oily cookies. I wonder how they'd do substituting applesauce for half to all of the oil... We dished them with a cookie scoop and rolled them into 'walnut-sized' balls; they did not bake in 8-10 minutes - they probably took 13. They receive a 3-star rating because my husband liked them, but I assure you I won't waste ingredients on this recipe again (unless it's a half batch to test the applesauce theory).
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: SKTUNSTALL
I made these about 2 hours ago and they were terrible when they came out of the oven. 1 hour later they were still sub-par. 2 hours later they were very good. Don't give into the normal tempatation to eat them directly out of the oven because they don't taste good. Give 'em time....
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes