My Reviews (11)

Buttermilk Chocolate Cake

This is a delicious fudgy chocolate cake recipe - in fact it is the very best chocolate cake recipe I have ever tasted.
Reviews (11)


26 Aug 2001
Reviewed by: SLFRAZIER
If you bake this cake for 25 minutes, it will fall, should be baked for around 40 minute.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: Coleenb
I did bake the cake longer, too. It was interesting that the cake seemed to change by the hour. My family loved it! I also froze some and it thawed beautifully.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Jan 2005
Reviewed by: ANNAMA
it really has to cook at least 10/15 min. more than stated; it sure tastes good and it's very easy. Too sweet for my taste, and not chocholatey as I expected (that's why a basically quick and good enough cake gets 4 stars from me...)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: Melissa
This is the easiest and the best chocolate cake ever!!!! I found this recipe I guess about a month ago and I have already made it 3 times. The only problem I have with it is it barely last one whole day. Thank you for a great recipe, oh and yes it needs to bake 40 min at 350, nothing else needs to be done to it. its perfect.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: cocoabean
this cake was so good i made it for my dads birthday and everyone was asking the recipe for it and i told them that it was a secret cakes because that is what it was called so i just told the name and what website to find the cake on. i love all people who read my reviews
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: Robert P.
I made this cake for my son-in-laws birthday and followed the tip to bake it for 40 minutes....thirty ninutes in it fell. I think it was because I baked it in a disposible pan so they could take the extra home. We still ate it and the flavor was awesome. So I tried it again tonight in a real pan. I added an extra egg and beat the eggs prior to adding them to the batter. It turned out great! I will try to post a picture in the next few days.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: Katie
This cake can be very yummy, but IMHO, I think it needs a teaspoon of cinnamon in it to give the chocolate the zip it needs. I have made this cake for years. The one time I forgot the cinnamon, it just didn't taste right to me and was not popular with the people eating it. Afterward I sprinkled a little cinnamon on the top and, yep, it was fixed!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: Dee Schwesinger
We really, really didn't like this cake. It was not nearly chocolaty enough and the frosting was sickeningly sweet despite the fact that I reduced the amount of sugar in the frosting (the only change I made to the recipe). Secret Cake is a secret best kept -- I will not be making this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: Happyschmoopies
This is your basic "Texas" sheet cake and overall I think most people would really like. It is usually a hit at office parties or church potlucks. I think the sweetness of the cake is a nice balance to the icing since it is very sweet. For my family we didn't like the texture of the icing. Although the flavor was good, it has a really gritty texture.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Oct 2012
Reviewed by: Ms. Jay
I love this cake! Baked for 40 minutes, per reviews suggestions. Good job!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes