My Reviews (111)

Pork and Cheese Appetisers

Topped with a dollop of sour cream and a sprinkling of spring onions, these lovely entrées will be the first to disappear! Impressive, yet easy to make!
Reviews (111)


02 May 2003
Reviewed by: TENNISMOM
A friend of mine would not share this recipe -- so glad you posted this here. These are easy, tasty and typically the first appetizer to be eaten. Bake the Wonton wrappers first, then fill with the sausage mixture and reheat. This will prevent the wrappers from being soggy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: naples34102
Excellent - delicious, different and a real "statement piece" on your appetizer table. Best yet, no rocket science involved to make them - no pointers needed, no changes. So easy you could almost do this with one arm tied behind your back. One suggestion - once these are baked remove them from the muffin tin, place them on a cookie sheet and put them back in the oven to crisp up the bottoms.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: Robin Seidel
I first made these in 2003 and they've been a staple for my appetizer parties ever since. I use a combination of sweet and hot sausage, which, because it can be hard to break up during cooking, after draining I put in the food processor for a couple pulses. That way it has nice, even texture. I also use a combination of pineapple salsa and sweet hot pepper & onion relish, both of which gave it a hint of sweetness and zing. Between the hot sausage and the relish, it has a real bite. The sour cream cuts that, though. I always use a pastry bag to apply the sour cream; makes it neat, quick and easy. A make-ahead tip is to pre-bake the wonton skins, using a small wooden pastry dowel to press them GENTLY into the tin, sprayed with Pam. Spray the skins lightly prior to baking, and watch them in the oven; they can burn quickly. I then use a small scoop to fill the cups with the sausage mixture that I warmed up separately. This way you can make both days ahead (store the cooled cups in a resealable bag), then assemble just prior to plating. The thing I love about these is the texture...crunchy (from skins above the muffin rim) and chewy (part encasing the sausage).
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Mar 2003
Reviewed by: sbsbea
My husband and I tried these and really liked them. The only problem I had was that although I drained and rinsed the sausage, the appetizers still tasted a little greasy as they cooled a bit. I am not really a fan of sausage, anyway, so that could have contributed to my 'picky-ness'. I think that this is a great idea, and will try other fillings. Seasoned and grilled chicken would be wonderful. Beef taco filling would be good. Or, even doing a crab rangoon filling and topping with sweet and sour might be worth a try. What about all diced veggies (peppers, onions, mushrooms, etc.) that have been tossed with a little seasoned olive oil and topped with parmesan after baking? The possibilities are endless.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Jul 2002
Reviewed by: SAANONSEN
This is a very simple recipe and very impressive. I brought a triple batch to a family gathering and went home with none. I left off the sour cream and green onion and prepared a simple dipping sauce of sour cream and taco seasoning for them instead. I also used plain ground pork and a very mild salsa which made them very kid friendly. The second batch I made with Seasoned pork and hotter salsa. Next time I will go back to the plain ground pork and rely on the salsa for the seasoning. MAKE THESE! You will receive lots of praise!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: BJT1968
I love this recipe; try brushing the wonton 'cups' with oil, especially on the tips, prior to baking for 5 min. before filling with sausage mixture. Return to oven to bake an additional 5 min.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Mar 2001
Reviewed by: GOLDILOST
All in all the recipe was okay, but I would probably try ground beef next time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 May 2003
These are quick and easy appetizers!!! The only thing I noticed was that they were a little salty... And if you are in a rush, the pre-made phyllo dough cups in the frozen food section at the supermarket prove to be a cinch!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: Charlotte's Mom
Simple and easy. I love recipes that look like I slaved for hours. I wouldn't change a thing about this recipe. I made them for a Christmas Eve buffet and made them the night before. They are delicious. I will definatley make these again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Feb 2012
Reviewed by: Kim's Cooking Now!
The Bunco ladies enjoyed these last night! I did pre-bake the wonton wrappers for about 8 minutes earlier in the day to make prep time easier. Also took the advice of another reviewer and pulsed the sausage in my food processor a couple of times, just to get an even crumble. I also mixed the sausage, salsa & cheese earlier in the day - then just popped it in the micro for a couple of minutes, filled the shells and re-heated for about 6 minutes, just to re-warm the shells. I got 34 out of this recipe instead of 24 - just a heads up for others. Nice appetizer, and will make again. Thanks.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes