My Reviews (56)

Tofu Noodle Soup

This is a great vegetarian soup which tastes just like chicken noodle soup. The raisins are an unusual touch.
Reviews (56)


16 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: sarah
This is my recipe. After making this several times since writing the recipe, I've found that: I like chicken flavored vegetable broth by Orrington Farms the best; it's ok to use minced garlic from a jar; add 1/2 cup more celery; add herbs/spices before boiling; decrease water to 10 cups; increase noodles to 3 cups (I like the dumpling style noodles); and decrease cooking time to 20-30 minutes. The cornstarch/water mixture is optional. Oh, you may need to add salt to taste depending on the sodium content of your broth. And this is probably more like 6-8 servings.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: jenhatan
it was really good as a base soup, although i admit that i had to make a few adjustments. i added lots of green vegetables and only kept the water/stock to 6 cups, not 12. in making it i really feel that 12 cups would make it way too thin.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Nov 2009
Reviewed by: Marbear
This soup is great! I put in 10 cups of water based on other suggestions here, but 12 cups would have been just right (the egg noodles soak up a lot of the liquid). I stopped eating meat last year and now I won't even miss chicken noodle soup!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: gatorgirl
This is a nice simple soup that i enjoyed and will make again. I have a warning for all people who read these reviews though. Keep the broth at 12 cups if you use egg noodles. I reduced the broth to 8 cups and those noodles soaked it right up. after two bowls there wasn't any broth left! Thanks for a good recipe. I will make it with my own vegetable stock next time to reduce the sodium and keep it at 12 cups.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: jason72
This soup is fantastic. I have made it a couple of times now and absolutely love it. The first time I made it I followed the ingredients exactly. The scond time I made it , I altered it slightly. I added a little more cornstarch to thicken it up a bit and used two cloves of garlic. and a little extra carrots and raisins. I will be making this on a regular basis .
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: Katherine
This is a good soup recipe. Nothing too fancy, but very tasty. I made it once with the raisins, and once without. It is good both ways, but I think I prefer it without. The raisins give a very interesting sweet taste, and is definitely worth a try.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Nov 2013
Reviewed by: misslauren
Unreal. I can't believe there's only 2 tbs of butter in this! I forwent the raisins like a few others. I also didn't have the fake chicken broth so I used 6 chicken flavored bullion cubes (fake chicken, vegetarian cubes). I also used only 10 cups of water, added another cup of egg noodles, and the last of my frozen peas (about a cup and a half) it came out just the right consistency. Holy smokes, the flavor is great and it made my kitchen smell wonderful! Thanks so much!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Oct 2013
Reviewed by: Jamie Justice Yost
I absolutely LOVE this recipe! I made it last night for a Monday night dinner and not only is it easy enough for a weeknight, but my husband loved it. I used the dumpling noodles, which I love anyway, and used vegetable broth because I couldn't find the kind called for in the recipe. I added more salt because my broth didn't have a whole lot. As for the other seasonings, I really only used the poultry seasoning and black pepper (and a bit of thyme.) I also added peas because I thought they looked pretty. And one more change - I sauteed the tofu with the veggies for just a bit to give it some flavor. My husband usually HATES celery, so I left it big enough for him to pick out but he wound up liking it. I didn't have to use the cornstarch mixture, but I could see how it would be a nice thickening agent if your soup was thin. I will most certainly be making this recipe again and again this fall and winter, especially since I keep most of the ingredients on hand. A soup that's this easy is always nice to have in the arsenal. Thanks for a fantastic recipe!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Nov 2012
Reviewed by: stephyork
My first time cooking with tofu and it was a success. My family liked it too!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: VeggieLovinHippie
Love this soup! I always make extras for leftovers and plenty to freeze for later.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes