My Reviews (19)

Salt Cod with Avocado

This is a popular breakfast dish in the Caribbean. Salt cod, or baccala, can be found in many supermarkets.
Reviews (19)


06 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: t
This was a great recipe. I used green bell peppers and I didn't use any red pepper flakes. I cubed the avocado into the recipe instead of having it on the side. I also used a good quality extra virgin olive oil. I prefer my buljol chilled but I was so eager I ate it right away. When I had seconds a few hours later, it was even more flavorful. Enjoy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: Ty
I am from the Caribbean as well and I remember my grandmother making saltfish on Sunday morning with Butter bread and avacado.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: redpeak2
I'm also from Trinidad & Tobago (T&T) in the Caribbean. Yes indeed, growing up in the '60s, and even now in some homes, Sundays breakfasts usually consisted of 'Buojol' along with scrambled eggs, 'hops bread' or 'bake' (a fried flat bread or thick stovetop roasted flat bread) as well as a green salad, West Indian style. In my home and many others I visited, this dish was never cooked. The saltfish (salted cod to Americans) was soaked overnight, rinsed out twice before using, flaked, and combined with the other ingredients, all of which were fresh and raw, chopped, minced, or crushed--onions, garlic, tomatoes, sprig of thyme, some times fresh watercress in bite size pieces, (no lettuce), scotch bonnet pepper or bird pepper, a little crushed black pepper, slivers of green onives (chives), olive oil, and vinegar or freshly squeezed lemon juice. Avocados could be cubed and lightly tossed just before serving or on the side if preferred. Sliced hard boiled eggs were optional. The fish was the greatest quantity of ingredients balanced to one's taste.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: jacquie
My entire family is from Jamaica and this is the real-true way to make cod fish Very good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: DiamondGirl amanecer
This is very good recipe for salted fish. Ii is my first attempt at cooking salted fish and it turned out so good. The recipe may sound a little ordinary, but when you make this it is rich and fantastic. Be sure to use avocados and incorporate it into the sauce. This recipe would be good not only for breakfast, but for festive food too, I think.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Jun 2001
Reviewed by: DORNE
This dish was simple and enjoyable. A quick breakfast. Very good with hot bread or crackers.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: Mrs. Jessica
Excellent recipe....I'm from the Virgin Islands and have never made this dish but after seeing this recipe I tried it and it is perfect....the only thing I added was a scotch bonnet for more hot flavor...just great!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Jan 2004
Reviewed by: gjm
Made this using leftover grilled swordfish steak and more lettuce to eat as a main dish salad. Both my husband and I thought it was delish! Will try it again using chicken or shrimp or pork. A keeper! Will be a great summer meal.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Sep 2007
Reviewed by: freidrich
Great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: pgn9
I followed this recipe to a T and added only a little extra scotch bonnet sauce. Hubby likes it HOT! It is fabulous and so easy ...I've made it twice in a week.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes