My Reviews (77)

Salmon in Dill Cream Sauce

Salmon, lemon, dill and cream are a classic combination and create a perfect dish that everyone will love. Goes well with fresh steamed asparagus and new potatoes.
Reviews (77)


07 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: ROBINANNE2
I made this tonight with some Chum fillets that were in my freezer. I made a few changes to the recipe though. I didn't have a shallot on hand so I minced two garlic cloves instead. I only used 2 tablespoons of butter in total rather than the 10 tablespoons called for. After sauting the garlic I did not add any more butter. I did not use cream. Instead I used 1 cup of 1% milk. I thickened the sauce with 1/2 teaspoon of cornstarch mixed with 1 tablespoon of milk. I also baked the salmon in the oven rather than in a skillet. I lined a baking pan with aluminum foil, placed the salmon in the pan and poured the sauce overtop. I then baked the salmon for 15 minutes at 400F. (A good rule of thumb for baking fish fillets is 10 minutes per inch of thickness at 400F). This was excellent and I would definitely make this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: Momof2
Delicious. This is one of the best salmon recipes I have tried. I used garlic instead of shallot (didn't have any) and it turned out great. I cooked the entire time in the oven and it was so moist and flavorful. I will make sure that this goes in the permanent file. Thanks for the post.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Apr 2005
Reviewed by: Carrie
This was my first attempt with making fish ever. It was delicious. I did make some changes in order to add flavor and cut fat. I used fresh dill and thyme (double the dry amounts) per reviewers suggestion. I substituted milk for cream (so I used 1 cup of 2% milk instead of 1/2 cup heavy cream and 1/2 cup milk). I think I only used about 4 tbsp of butter. I don't think I added more butter to the sauce once it was thick (if I did, it wasn't 1/4 cup) and used about 1/8 tbsp when cooking the salmon first. Once the salmon was finished cooking in the sauce, I decided to thin the sauce a bit with more milk, lemon juice, and wine so that I could pour the sauce over some wheat pasta. It was excellent! It didn't need any more herbs since it was flavorful enough.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: What a Dish!
This is so good! I did like some of the other reviewers and baked the salmon the whole time. I made the sauce separately and served over the salmon. I used the 2 TBS. of butter with the shallots, but then only stirred in another 1/2 TBS. of butter at the end. I think all of the other butter is unnecessary. It tasted great without it! I did use the cream and used 1% milk. I used chicken broth in place of the wine, and didn't add any extra salt. This was pretty easy to put together, and the sauce went well with steamed broccoli and new potatoes. I really, really liked the sauce, and salmon is always yummy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: SunnyCook
This was AWESOME. I revised slightly - I used milk in place of the cream and garlic in place of the shallots - due to not having these ingredients available. I also added about a tablespoon of cornstarch to the sauce to help thicken it. In the last few minutes of making the sauce, I added about 3 T of capers. YUM! I also baked the salmon (375 for 25 min) and then spooned the sauce over top. Delicious!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: icecreambears
I just finished my plate and WOW. It was great! I did use only about half the amount of butter. The taste was very much like the sauce you get with the herb crusted salmon at Cheesecake Factory. I will be making this again and again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: Babzil
I see how this sauce would be fantastic, but dear lord, what's with all the butter?! I started with one small onion and one clove of garlic then proceeded with the sauce as suggested. It was terrific after the milk/cream has thickened, I loved the wine and the vinegar in there for depth of taste and the herbs were lovely. (I doubled the dill and halved the thyme to make it a DILL sauce.) Then there was the 1/4 cup of butter to be added. I was suspicious of it but wanted to make the recipe as written first so I went along with it. At this stage it was still ok. But another 1/4 cup of butter for frying the fish? Then that to be mixed with the rest of the sauce? Very odd. I did end up taking at least half of that butter off the fish before mixing because it just looked wrong, and yet, it came out way to fatty. So sad as what I could taste of the sauce was great. I am a great fan of making rich food but with this I have to wonder if there was a type-o in the recipe. But I have certainly learnt from this. I plan to make this sauce for fish again and again and again - minus all the butter. Thanks for the recipe, I'm sure it will be a fabulous 5 star one next time!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Mar 2005
Reviewed by: MSZABO323
My family loved this salmon. The sauce is absolutely delicious and would be nice with any kind of fish. I did use FRESH dill and thyme (double the amounts). This is the best -light and fresh tasting!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: NiG
It is was great and very easy to prepare recipe. I would recommend using less butter as Salmon is already a fatty fish. I also did not have white wine and cooked it entirely without it, and it came out great. Also I substituted the lemon pepper with regular white pepper because I already felt it had enough of lemon taste and did not want it the sauce to turn bitter.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: Monica Wiant
This sauce is fantastic! It is flavorful but not overpowering, and brings out the taste of the salmon quite well. I doubled the recipe and instead of cooking the salmon in a saute pan, put it in a baking dish in the oven. Every one of my guests raved!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes