My Reviews (19)

Easy Rocky Road Cake

This cake is so easy to make your kids can help you do it. It was originally my grandmother's recipe.
Reviews (19)


10 Dec 2001
Reviewed by: SAN MIGUEL
This was so moist and very good- I did add chopped walnuts to the frosting since thats what I know as Rocky Road with the marshmallows and nuts- The cake was and frosting however were fabulous I was skeptical of the vinegar but did use it. I intend to make it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: CherryLime
MAKE THIS CAKE! It was VERY easy, and the glaze/frosting was simple and came out delicious as well, though sweet, which IMHO, is a good thing. Best cake of this type I've had in a long time. Okay, so I confess I didn't sift anything. I did use a whisk to try and blend the dry ingredients, but I'm no pastry chef, so maybe that is supposed to do something, but the cake was amazing anyway. I plan to use the glaze on other cakes. It set up pretty quickly, and would work on many other cakes. I also think I may double the cake recipe but not the glaze next time, and bake in a 9x13 pan. I think I may also try without the marshmallows. DISCLAIMER: I do not, as a general rule, like chocolate cake. That being said, this one was absolutely delicious! Thanks for the recipe LEESON71!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: Chef4Six
Fantastic cake!!! I love the idea and it was a big hit with everyone! I doubled the cake recipe and baked it in a 9" tin. I did not need to double the frosting. It melted well and spread easily over the cake. I sprinkled the cake with mini marshmallows, white and chocolate chocolate chips. The topping set nicely and held the topping in place. I will be making this again. It was very easy!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Jul 2005
Reviewed by: Rosanna Lewis
I made this for my nephew who is allergic to milk and compared to his other dairy free cakes, this was excellent!! I sifted the dry mixture only once, and baked as directed. Crumbly as I would expect a cake like this to be, but a very yummy version of dairy free cake!! Didn't make the frosting this round (the cake alone was yummy), but will definitely try it next time!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: willbake4shoes
I love this cake! I bring this to people who are sick or had a baby and the size is perfect. The first time I made it I was out of white sugar so substitute brown sugar and I was so happy with the slight caramel flavor that I make it with brown sugar now.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: adriane
Loved, loved, loved the cake but made more of a whipped icing the second time as I found this a bit too heavy for the cake.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: Wirefox Terrier Mom
This is a definite kid/teen pleaser. My kids would have given this 10 stars if they could have. My husband and I found it so-so and gave it 3 stars. It is super easy to make. I may not make it for us again, but it will be made for my kids and their friends for sure. Thank you for the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Jun 2014
Reviewed by: RebeccaRyan
I made the cake exactly as directed and thought it was very good. Super easy and fast! I did add chopped walnuts as topping, which I thought added to the Rocky Road flavor and gave it a good change in texture.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: musicmomto4
My recipe calls it "Crazy Cake". It is good!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: A.Frankie
The cake came out well-it baked up nicely and had a nice dark chocolatey taste. The icing however, was too sweet for the cake and adding it kind of ruined the cake eating experience for us.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes