My Reviews (9)

Roast Chicken with Sage and Lemon Balm

A simple and classic way to roast a whole chicken with sage and lemon balm. It comes out crispy and moist.
Reviews (9)


24 Feb 2013
Reviewed by: BakingNana
Easy and oh so good!
 
13 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: DENISEREGINA
basic roasted chicken. I did it on the grill. The recipe caught my eye because I have lemon balm growing in my herb garden and I don't do much with it except to favor tea. Not much lemon flavor came through, although that's probably OK
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: cookingmama5
This is the third time I have made this recipe. Why? Because my husband and children ask for it! It is sooooooo moist!!!! And, so flavorful!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Feb 2012
Reviewed by: gonzalezlovetocook
had make this chicken 2 times this week !! is one of the best complements i go! thank you Micheal!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Aug 2013
Reviewed by: S.E.
I have lemon balm coming up all over my back yard year after year and this is a good way to use some of it. The chicken turned out moist and with a nice subtle flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Apr 2018
Reviewed by: Ginaiscooking
I thought this was one of the easiest and tastiest chicken recipes I have made in a while. I used chicken drumsticks but easily one can use the whole chicken. I also added parsley potatoes in the broiler. I like simple chicken recipes where you can taste the chicken and enjoy some crispiness in the skin. I would recommend this as an easy during the week meal that enhances not masks the chicken. I used some fresh sage and lemon balm from my garden, and used fresh garlic, diced, rather than garlic salt. Can never have too much garlic!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Sep 2018
Reviewed by: Lisa
A recipe worthy of my teenage son's home grown chickens! I have an abundance of lemon balm and plenty of sage this garden season so I was excited to use them.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Aug 2018
Reviewed by: Reeldoc
There are a few problems with the recipe as written. The herb quantity is too small. I doubled both sage and lemon balm and flavor was great. Perhaps I missed it but I don’t see where the oil listed in the ingredients is supposed to go. I place in cavity of bird. 180 degrees is far too high and will result in a drier than needed chicken. All safety recommendations point to 165 degrees for poultry that is done moist and free of bacteria. With those adjustments it was very good. Finally we used a raised wire plate over a roasting pan so it did not need to be turned. The skin was still crisp all over.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Jul 2017
Reviewed by: Margo Horne
Used boneless, skinless chicken breast. Made the herb butter in the morning adding the garlic powder , salt and pepper. Turned oven down to 350 and baked. The left over herb butter, I melted and used as a sauce for cooked chicken. Best chicken I ever made
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes