My Reviews (14)

Roast Chicken Chilli Pita Pockets

This is my favourite way to use up leftover chicken. Note: If making this for kids, you may want to exclude chilli sauce and Tabasco sauce.
Reviews (14)


04 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: mrstrii
I made a low fat version of this by using fat free yoghurt and fat free sour cream instead of the mayo - it turned out great. Very creamy and rich without the guilt. The rest of the dressing ingredients in the recipe were already full of flavor so we didn't miss the mayo. I also removed all the chicken skin (I know, all the fun bits!). I just eyeballed the whole recipe and it still turned out yummy! The creaminess of the dressing counters the relative dryness of the pita and chicken. I kept the veggies on the side (used leftover salad instead of shredded lettuce) until we were ready to eat. Hubby took the leftovers to work the next day (pita, chicken with dressing and veggies all packed separately to prevent sogginess). So quick and easy, I know this will be a regular at our table. Hubby already requested for this to be packed for his lunch regularly.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Jan 2002
Reviewed by: JOJOENGLAND
This tasted like a sloppy joe made with chicken. yuck!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Apr 2006
Reviewed by: Schwammrs
We really liked this. I did make just a few changes (mostly based on other reviews I read): I used less ketchup, mayo and chili sauce than indicated. I didn't measure -- just poured in some ketchup, a little more chili sauce, and even a little more mayo, until the mixture (onions, chicken and cheese was already in there) was the consistency I'd want in a sandwich. Also, I'm usually not a big fan of ketchup and mayo, especially mixed together, but I was pleasantly surprised by this. I did add a dash of nutmeg and maybe 1 tsp of dried parsley, so that maybe also helped it not taste like ketchup&mayo. Oh, and I added some chopped almonds, for a little crunchy texture. Like someone else mentioned, I didn't add the lettuce to the mixture, but rather added it to the sandwiches as I was assembling them. And lastly, I don't understand why the recipe only calls for ONE pita bread. Maybe others have huge pitas, but I've only ever seen 7" ones - we needed way more than one! (I think we used 5 total.)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Oct 2005
Reviewed by: Charity Danjczek
Very yummy! Next time I'll stuff the lettuce in at the end. Mixing it with the rest of the ingredients made for some soggy lettuce in the leftovers!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Sep 2000
Reviewed by: martha
My husband really likes this one, but suprisingly my kids did too! I recommend this for a hot day when there is not much time to dedicate to the kitchen.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 May 2009
Reviewed by: lmm999
I did not add the chili sauce as I didn't have any on hand, and just sprinkled in some chili powder instead for spice, and it turned out very good. For those who thought it tasted too much like sloppy joe, making it this way makes the tomato taste less overwhelming.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: foodehottie
recipe does not say to chop the chicken breast.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Aug 2001
Reviewed by: Deb Stelling
Easy, quick, and the kids loved it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: Debbie Miller
I'm sorry but this is nothing but a flour tort with chicken, salad and some mayo and ketchup . I'm not impressed.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 May 2007
Reviewed by: L. Gibson
This was really good. I substituted tuna for the chinken and it turned out great.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes