My Reviews (60)

Chicken Rigatoni with Spinach

This is a delicious chicken pasta with a tangy pink sauce that contains spinach. A perfect healthy dinner!
Reviews (60)


06 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: Elizabeth Lombard
My family loved this. I will cook it again but I think I'll add a little Madeira Wine for more taste. The cream sauce is adaptable- at my house 5 of us ate it with chicken and two with shrimp. If you don't have heavy cream, do not despair- I used Evaporated milk and it was smooth and creamy. An easy, tasty dish...Thank you, Mary.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Mar 2001
Reviewed by: MOLSON7
This was really simple and good. The hardest part was cleaning the spinach. I did add moer garlic.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Apr 2003
Reviewed by: MISSIMIN
I cut the recipe in half and it would have fed 6 people. I also used half and half instead of cream as someone else suggested. The recipe says to cook the chicken, add garlic, add sauce then add chicken. I didn't remove the chicken and add it again. I left it in the pot and added Ragu 2lbs) and half and half (about 6 oz) I also added about 1/4 tsp of sugar to cut the acid in the sauce. The mozzarella wasn't really necessary. I added it at the end but it would have been great without it. I did add the parmesan. Also, the spinach really does cook down so don't be afraid to add alot. This is definitely a "keeper" recipe great to serve when company is coming and you want something delicious and different.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Oct 2003
Reviewed by: EHEROT
This recipe is supposed to be creamy and fattening but good god. There reaches a point with cream where more just makes it heavier instead of tastier. Fat is good for carrying flavor to the tongue. Generally the more fat you have, the better flavor is carried, but only to a point. Once you cross that point, it just tastes like fat and nothing else. To improve this recipe I would a) use about half the prescribed cream, b) switch the mozzarella for parmesan, and c) add spices! (basil, oregano, black pepper, and double the garlic). Also, use a 4-6 qt saucepan instead of a skillet so that you can add the spinach all at once, lest it lose its flavor while you're waiting for some of it to reduce so that you can add more (my 12" iron skillet wasn't big enough). Even with my modifications, I doubt this recipe has the complexity and ingenuity to get any more than 3 or 3.5 stars.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: Nadine Oswald
Very good. I didn't have cream, so I made a substitution with 3/4 cup milk, 1/3 cup butter and 1/2 Tbl. cornstarch per one cup of cream. I added a little extra garlic and some basil, oregano and rosemary. Will definitely make this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Apr 2003
Reviewed by: KEROSKAM
This was very good! I made a few small changes. I took advice from previous reviewers and I added 1/2 cup grated parmesan to the finished sauce, and I also used half and half instead of heavy cream. The sauce came out very creamy and thickened nicely. I also doubled the garlic and used frozen chopped spinach. It made a lot of sauce, and for once, a recipe that says it served 4 actually did. This would also be yummy without the chicken, as it took my husband several bites before he realized the chicken was even in there. Great recipe, I'm definitely keeping this one!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Dec 2000
Reviewed by: Jason
Wow, what an excellent dinner. After a 1/2 cup of fresh parmesean into the sauce to make it more "alfredo'y" I served this. Delicious I will definitely be making this for our Christmas gathering, perhaps even New Year's. Especially good for families used to big portions.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: DREGINEK
Excellent recipe! Very easy and very versatile! I used a thicker "garden style" spaghetti sauce that already had green peppers and mushrooms in it and instead of spinach, used a head of chopped broccoli. One could easily substitute shrimp for the chicken or just use a variety of veggies. Thanks Mary!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: FNChef
Super quick and easy and 100% modifiable based on what you have around and need to use up. For me, I chose medium shells for my bf and will serve over leftover quinoa for me. Skipped the chicken. Traded evaporated milk for the heavy cream (had some to use up). And forgot the mozz but will top it on my bf's for his lunch tomorrow. I love garlic, so I appreciated what it added to my jar of Classico sauce (which I enjoy on it's own, the garlic just amped up the flavor). Adding the cream (milk) changes this from a traditional spaghetti/sauce. And how simply brilliant to chop the spinach... hello, why don't I do that more often?? Looking forward to a tasty lunch tomorrow!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: VictoriaSe49896
This was a really nice dish to make. I used the recipe as a base and added crushed red peppers, Italian seasonings, salt and pepper. In addition I cut back on the spinach some probably 3/4 of the spinach (could have used even less). I think the dish would have been bland without all the addition spices I added. Overall not bad.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes