My Reviews (64)

Sweet Ricotta Pie

This is a delicious - and slightly unusual - Italian dessert. Mini chocolate bits and lemon rind can be mixed into the batter.
Reviews (64)


12 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: Tanya Belt
This recipe is indeed an old itilian recipe. MY mother in law is from Italy and I have made one very similar for many years. I will try this one for this Easter. This kind of cheese pie is very different from a regular cheam cheese pie, I think you have to either hate it or love it. We love it. We have it for Easter as a tradition . It does have an eggy taste but thats what it is supposed to have. Try it you will like it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Mar 2002
Reviewed by: PAULABMP
I made this recipe last Easter and was so happy to find it again on this web site (after misplacing it) that I signed up. I did not find it "eggy" at all. It came out just like the ricotta pies we had at Easter when I was a kid, delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Apr 2001
Reviewed by: MICHELELYNN
This recipe requires 16 eggs, 12 of which are in the filling....unfortunately, it tastes very "eggy" and was unappealing. Otherwise, the pies look good and are somewhat tasty.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: Ginny Judd
Based on the reviews of other, I cut back on the eggs and only used 10. I also added 4 pounds of ricotta instead of 3. This made the pies less custard like but they were too sweet. Otherwise, a very good recipe. Next time I will also cut back on the sugar.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 May 2008
Reviewed by: Brad
Absolutely delicious. Probably the best pie I've ever had. I did cheat and use premade crust. Next I plan to try it with a little crushed pineapple.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: Connie G
This is a beautiful recipe, I have replaced my recipe, for this one. I have made it for Easter for the past 2 years. Great !!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Apr 2005
Reviewed by: Judy A
I've tried to make different versions of this pie and this one was far and above the best. Its the first time my family really raved about this pie.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Apr 2014
Reviewed by: bellalana
I didn't find a THING wrong with this recipe,,it was easy,and probably the best ricotta pie I ever had,,Everyone LOVED it,I made one with chocolate chips and one without,,BOTH WERE FANTASTIC,thank you so much for posting! Don't change a thing about it (people that CHANGE recipes and complain about it,,tick me off...)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: Jess
This was absolutely delightful! The flavor of this reminds me a lot of English custard, as well as in texture to a small degree. My boyfriend and I made it for a dinner party with some of our friends and it was enjoyed ( and eaten right up) by everyone. The one downfall is the amount it makes. We made one 9 inch and one 7 inch pie and still have enough mix to make probably two or possibly three more 9 inch pies. So if your not looking to make pies for the masses, I would suggest halving it!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Jun 2005
Reviewed by: Cindy Larock
awesome
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes