My Reviews (14)

Easy Rhubarb Batter Cake

This very simple cake works really well with apples and berries, too! Enjoy warm with frozen yoghurt.
Reviews (14)


26 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: mama of four
I don't know why I didn't mention this but the reason I don't boil the fruit is I always use frozen fruit. Most fruit cooks up soft once it has been frozen.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 May 2012
Reviewed by: Amystef
I have an allotment so this recipe is good for using the Rhubarb. Noticed the last reviewer said the recipe didn't work well, when I was half way through making it so looked again at ingredients and decided that whoever posted the recipe must have written down 50g of Butter rather than 150g so I quickly added more butter. The result was worth it a lovely Rhubarb cake which will go nicely with Custard. So if you are going to make it use 150g. I also doubled the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
23 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: wanda
my family has made this only we bring the fruit to a boil.put in baking dish and put cake on top.Use any fruit you have . Everyone loves it
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: kplaposata
Easy and good. It's one rhubarb recipes that doesn't require a lot of sugar.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
Comment:
19 Apr 2011
sk39 said:
I would say that i am a good cook but this just did not work! Are the quantities right, i would say not! Tasted OK even though it looked terrible!
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
19 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: sk39
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
21 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: ChileDog
I used blackberries (and 2 Tbsp sugar) for the fruit, but followed the topping recipe exactly. It came out beautifully. Really simple, but delicious. More cake-like than cobbler -- would work well with most fruit. Highly recommend!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 May 2010
Reviewed by: GiGi to six
My family loved this little desert! I wasn't sure that my 11 and 12 year old granddaughters would like it but, they thought it was great. I was thinking it would make a wonderful base for Strawberry Shortcake when we can get good Michigan Strawberries in June. Can't wait to try it that way.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: Lorelei Gertz
Without additional sugar mixed with the rhubarb, it's really really sour.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Jul 2018
Reviewed by: Geri Hills
Haven't made this yet but I was wondering if a cake mix would work. My pantry is small so I'm always looking for shortcuts! Would this have to be called a 'cobbler' then? Ha,ha.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes