My Reviews (70)

Corned Beef and Sauerkraut Casserole

This casserole combines the flavours of the classic Reuben sandwich: rye, corned beef, sauerkraut and Swiss cheese.
Reviews (70)


07 Mar 2001
Reviewed by: MIHAELA
Somewhat time-consuming, but worth it. We really enjoyed it. Five stars.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Mar 2005
Reviewed by: STARFLOWER
Made half the recipe in 8x12 glass dish (plenty). Boiled the noodles first (drained well). Used leftover corned beef (diced). Used more milk so saucier and added a little horseradish to sauce (less mustard). Tossed cubed rye bread with melted butter and put on top. Baked at 350 for 25 mins and voila! Perfect! We loved it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Oct 2001
Reviewed by: RAVRAM
Great recipe! I'm not the big fan of Reuben sandwiches--my boyfriend is. But, even I really liked this! I toasted some rye bread for croutons while the oven was preheating--I didn't even crush them into crumbs. Also, I didn't rinse the sauerkraut--I wanted a stronger taste. THIS IS GREAT!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Mar 2004
Reviewed by: SweetBasil
I am sorry to rate this so low but we thought it was awful! I followed the recipe exactly, thinking what a great way to use up the St. Patrick's leftovers. We love Reuben sandwiches so I don't know what the problem is. I ate my portion, but my husband wouldn't eat his after the first few bites. Broke my heart with all those ingredients, especially the Swiss cheese. Sorry-
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 May 2010
Reviewed by: STEPHER11
Yum! I used a lot more rye bread cubes--maybe half of a loaf--and did not crush them. I think you get more of a crunchy rye bread taste that way. I also used more cheese, about 3 cups. Otherwise I followed the recipe exactly. Great recipe if you like sauerkraut.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: KAESS
This was interesting. With half the reviews being good and half of them being bad, I wasn't sure what to expect. I figured since this recipe made it into the Tried & True Allrecipes Cookbook, it couldn't be THAT bad. I was right. I followed the recipes exactly and it turned out just fine. I didn't pre-cook the noodles or anything. Definitely double up on the topping. I used 3 or 4 slices of rye bread and it wasn't enough.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: NTRDM2004
UGH! If you truly love reubans this recipe is definitely not for you -- there's no mushroom taste in a reuben and the egg noodles were awful. I haven't rated too many recipes low but this one definitely deserved the 2 stars.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: Amy Williams Hopkins
I made this last night. It was awful. I am not sure what went wrong. We love Reuben sandwiches but will not try this casserole again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Apr 2006
Reviewed by: UTVOL2483
This recipe was great! I did make a few changes though. Based on other reviews, I decreased the sauerkraut to 1 1/2 cans. I also cooked the noodles before baking, and used 1 tbsp regular mustard and 2 tbsp dijon mustard. 3/4 cup of bread crumbs is not enough, so next time I think I will use 2 cups. I ended up cooking it for about 30 min. covered and 10 uncovered. Thanks for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Jun 2002
Reviewed by: ANGIE JONES
Delicious recipe! I doubled the bread crumbs and butter and next time might make a little more sauce because it wasn't as runny as a good Rueben sandwich is. I split the dish in half and gave one half to a friend and froze the other. It froze beautifully. This is a definite keeper!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes